Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cruel Cruel Dastard - alect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS: With the "track" item selected, hold down the mouse to lay new tracks or re-route existing tracks. You can re-route existing tracks without spending money. Just drag your mouse over the existing track in the path you want it to take.

Cruel Cruel Dastard is a game about using the fortunes of your railway empire to rid the earth of damsels. Play by re-routing the train tracks to use your trains for villainy.

View alect's journal. | View all entries by alect

Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Theme4.09
#56Fun3.60
#59Overall3.68
#86Humor3.47
#98Innovation3.57
#211Mood3.08
#242Audio2.79
#439Graphics2.76

Comments

Almost says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

Nyahaha

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

Nice game! :)

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Awesome idea! great use of the theme.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

Well polished game. Kind of easy. The time should tick down even before you start playing the level.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03am

Love the evil chuckle--the puzzles seem pretty easy, but it's really impressive to have so many done in a weekend. I wish I could press the spacebar to start the simulation, though.

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17am

Well made indeed.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

Love that laugh ha

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

Pretty spot on with the theme. Great puzzle game.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20am

I love that 'Nyahaha' Sound effect. Brilliant.
Fun, cute, polished little game. I like it.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00am

Great idea, i enjoyed play !

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10am

Very fun; clever take on the theme. :)

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02am

Really intuitive track placement

Drabiter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

I like the screams. Good mechanism!

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

harharhar, very nice gsme, this made me really feel like a bad guy ^^

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

Niiiice. You went with paint-the-tracks instead of Pipe Dream style. I really like it. And you've got consistent sprites, audio, and LEVELS! Excellent! I'd actually play the crap out of this game. You should keep it going.

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:47am

Missing goats though? heh

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44am

Very nice. One of the best I've seen so far. Good art, great use of theme (plays perfectly into pop culture and everyone gets it) and the mechanics are such that you can get a lot of levels out of them. I think you nailed it.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

I liked this Game a lot :D You should maybe just have a quick tooltip like thing to show what stuff is doing, because I pretty much discovered how everything works by accident... But that's fun too I guess ;)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Interesting gameplay, not really on theme though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

The laugh sound is incredible. Really cool puzzle game, great work! Definitely the best application of the theme, too. Also, congrats on getting on Terry Cavanaugh's Site!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31am

Awesome. Just a little short.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

"Nyahaha" that laugh is really funny XD

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48am

this is good! nice little puzzle game, well executed idea

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59am

A nice little game with a fun concept. Well done!

Red Mike says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:21am

Hey there, rail-idea partner. o/

Neat little game. Mouse interaction felt a bit odd when laying tracks, but it works fine.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:29am

Amazingly good puzzle game !

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Nyahaha :D

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Nice idea, controls a bit harsh but pleasant !

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

This is a really fun game. The sound effects are great, and the graphics fit nicely. Well done!

JFlegle says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Very nice game

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Very good job, the game sucked me right in. Nice one!

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Loved the win / lose level noises. Liked the variety of things to buy throughout the game. Brilliant idea with the theme.

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:07am

Very nice puzzle game! The art style and theme fit well! Good job! :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:55am

I think I like this more than Trainyard.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:04am

Very nice. Surprised at the depth. Liked the challenge. Great pacing. Nice work.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Awesome job! I love the implementation of theme here. Great little puzzler. With some fancier graphics and sounds, I can totally see this selling on mobile devices.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Reminds me of Trainyard. I do really like the arcadey aspect of having to place track while it's running.

3dwoody says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Good work. Great use of the theme.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Great idea, nice puzzle game. :)

Milo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:22am

Excellent job here. This is a really original and fun game - I was kind of sad when it ended.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Nihaha :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Happy Death Train vs Damsels. Great job, esp. for in 48 hours.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:40pm

This is lovely :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Well done. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Nothing major to complain about.

raincole says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:34am

level design is very good. Reasonable difficulty curve.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Good concept. Good work with levels.

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:18pm

I felt villain, and that was good >:]

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:36pm

nice!

AdricZero says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Definitely a favorite of mine. Great concept, well executed.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:47am

Impressive ! It's a really hard work to make a puzzle game in 48h. Very good work !

tomc says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Good mix of mechanics; fun gameplay!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:59am

I WIN! :)
Superb job! Cute graphics and audio, and great fun to play!

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:43pm

I'm pressing space but there's no "Choo Choo". :(
I like this game.

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

i had fun with this one. nice idea and puzzle design!

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:06am

This game is really cool. Great idea! There's a lot of variation in the puzzles too. This is really good for 48 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]