Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Demon King Goes For a Ride

by 23 - Jam Entry

Pretty incomplete, but playable. Definitely ran out of time on this one.

A game for LD25! Pretty incomplete.

Play here:

http://polm.github.com/ld25/game.html

The Demon King has taken his flying castle out to kill everyone! Unfortunately, the villagers have their own protectors...

Controls:

Z: Drop a bomb P: Pause

When you destroy a house in a village, the altar in the village will start glowing and the villagers will begin to summon their guardian. If the guardian appears the only way to stop it is to the destroy the altar.

To win, destroy all the houses and trees.

Stay evil! -POLM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Theme(Jam)2.82
#278Mood(Jam)2.27
#289Overall(Jam)2.41
#297Graphics(Jam)2.18
#299Innovation(Jam)2.06
#299Fun(Jam)2.06
#980Coolness30%

Comments

Yacodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49am

First try : game area was big, slowed by I don't why, nothing happen... only Z... I was thinking about writing a comment, and then monster finally start to pop.

I loose, restart the page and get a much better experience (game area normal, run great, etc... more monster :D).

Pretty hard to control, but funny :)

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Somehow hard to understand at the first moment, but interesting.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00pm

The demon king seemed to be easily overwhelmed by the protectors.. :p

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:21pm

took a while to find the Z instructions :)

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:44am

hmm kinda hard to control =(
Would be interesting if ou acummulated some type of resource,and after you died you had a chance to upgrade your evil lord with lots of evil stuff,and try again! =]

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:32pm

No music or sounds at all, for a Jam entry that seems to be far too lacking for me. The game was also far too difficult, far too many souls to kill with far too little health, and the enemy attacks were far to hard to avoid. Still, you got a game up and running, keep improving and I'm sure you'll do better next time.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Controls are really tough. I suggest it's better to polish controls first in an action game, because awkward controls make almost any game, even the best ones, kind of worse then they actually are :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:41am

Had the same problem as Yacodo, upon restarting it ran much much better!

Destroying all the houses and trees is a bit much, maybe wiping out 80% would have been better? It sucks when you near the end and there are single ones left peppered around the map.

Overall, fun and interesting to master those controls. Like the art! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]