December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hench for Life: Rags to "Riches"

by henrypenface - Jam Entry

Nothing too complicated here, hire henchmen, send them to do stuff, make money.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Theme(Jam)3.48
#201Innovation(Jam)2.68
#220Humor(Jam)2.18
#245Audio(Jam)1.90
#249Graphics(Jam)2.62
#250Mood(Jam)2.47
#256Fun(Jam)2.36
#267Overall(Jam)2.59
#817Coolness42%

Comments

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

its ok i guess.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

I feel like there's not enough player agency. It's too random.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Would have liked a bit more control. Liked the concept.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

Well, I did some fighting and got some money but I wasn't really sure how to strategise in order to actually win - didn't feel as if I had much control over the outcome of the fighting

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23am

I agree with the other comments, there should be more control and less randomness :)

soupy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:30am

Felt tedious due to how difficult it was to get food, then my henchies would randomly die despite my leveling them up. The interface and graphics were nice though.

Rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31am

I really got into this game, its the first one Ive rated, only just finished the jam, anyway this game has got a real addictive mechanism. I would say that it took me a few mins to work out what was going on and how to interact to good feedback would be to buff the user interface :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:32am

Really like the mechanism! It would be cool if you expanded it to more stuff, but it certainly got 30min from me :) A background music would be cool too.

donmilham says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:32am

I really like the idea. I played on easy but it was too hard for me to complete. My henchmen kept dying. Fairly ambitious project!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]