December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Not my fault

by uuav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I gave up, code went messy, skills were not here, brain felt bad, not enough ideas and motivation.
Spend a lot of time trying to correct code hoping to make it work better under firefox but with no luck. Lack of javascript knowledge.

Wanted to make a game about fighting against yourself on being bad, like something you can't control.

the two timelapses:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8G-zNHnrmuU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTUO6fcAE9Y

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#217Graphics3.33
#468Innovation2.64
#511Mood2.52
#601Humor1.87
#625Theme2.52
#661Overall2.41
#724Fun1.86

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:52pm

It's not your fault ! (but really nice beginning :))

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21am

Shame you didn't get further, uuav. I liked the visual effects and art style though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40am

Wait, you gave up? Not sure how to rate that.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48am

You have a solid start, here. I can already see where you're headed with it and I think it's a great concept.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

I love the graphics in this. Wish it was finished. It has a super cool vibe.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43am

@Dark Acre Jack, You're not supposed to rate as it should have been, but as the half game it is. But it's more about sharing what I've done this weekend, ratings are not that important.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00am

I really like the concept! Sort of, tripping over people and stealing things without meaning to.

Took me a bit to realise that's what was going on - but still, enjoyable!

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03am

Nice graphics, i hope you will make an end. :)

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26pm

I feel like I should have 3D glasses for the color effect when the character collides with others. I like the visual style here.

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

Love the graphics, the idea, the overall mood, I'd really like to see it finished ^^

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36am

I don't quite get the idea or goal of this game - but what I can say for sure, is that the graphics and fx are absolutelly gr8. I'm sorry you dropped this idea, becouse to me it had the potential

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05am

Like others said. Good art, wish it was finished.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

a little confused on what to do but like it!

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

Nice start! Feels like the beginning of something cool.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:53am

Like the graphic style.

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56am

Too bad you gave up.. it was going well!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Interesting concept. Like others, not sure why you gave up but I guess we all do sometimes :)

mutuwarejam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:08pm

I have no idea what I'm doing.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20pm

What a little kleptomaniac! Haha, fun enough to warrant more development on it if you're feeling up to it. The fact that the character feels like he doesn't want to steal makes for a really intriguing experience.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Good luck next LD!
This was a very promising start of a game.
Looks really nice!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:54pm

I like the aesthetic you were going for.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Ahhh what a shame, this game is really cool looking, and I like the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]