December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

LeVillian

by Infin8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No Goats, No sound :(
Hopefully bug-free and balanced. Some exploits waiting to be discovered...
*Updated on 22/12/12 to make the game winnable

Game description:

Done for LudumDare 25

Play as Levillian the terror of the land. Summon an army of dastardly minions and conquer the land!

Instructions here:
-WASD for movement, 'U' 'I' 'O' for summoning. Not all summons are available from the start.

-Terrorize the land by
*Occupying villages (Summoning any Unit over them!)
*Capture the spawning buildings (Attack enemy buildings with your summons!)

With every village terrorized or building captured
*The terror percentage increases!
*Your mana regens more quickly, so you can summon troops faster!

Win/Lose
*If the terror percentage falls below 10%, you lose the stage
*If the terror percentage goes above 8 0% terror you win the stage

-You are opposed by the Hero, an indestructible force of good that levels up and becomes more powerful as he defeats your minions, so don't wait too long or get distracted by him!

-6 stages in total, no sound

All keys as noted in game.
Playable points not included:


Worked from older, personal base code as noted in earlier blog post and GameMaker assets

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#421Theme3.09
#579Innovation2.41
#590Fun2.32
#605Overall2.55
#606Graphics2.27
#636Humor1.77
#658Mood2.15
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:00am

I really wasn't sure exactly how to take over stuff other than the building with a bar on it.

I took over said building, walked around, couldn't find anything else other than a fisherman, and then it said I lost. I did this like 3 times.

Bit confused on this one.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:44am

@Alex

Sorry you got confused, I had to leave for a long time just after submitting my game. I've updated instructions on the page!

Hope this helps everyone else as well.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:42am

Thugs are so dumb.
I tried spamming thugs over the houses, but no matter what I do they start to run around to get killed by the hero or other minions. I never got over 50% terror. Eventually I was able to get past lv1 once, but lost shorty after in lv2.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:35am

@ Infin8: is it possible to get a Web/Mac build of this?

Infin8 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:04am

@youdonotexist

Sorry, I built this in Gamemaker and right now I don't have the time to put this into Web/Mac.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept, unfortunately the hero kept killing me over and over in level 2, I don't think I could actually create enough minions to kill him.

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:53pm

This is a very nice game. I like the concept and it's innovative. There are some frustrating things though. For example, the hero being invincible. And loosing your summons over houses all the time. Nice work

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:41pm

couldn't get past the first level :(

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:11am

A fun idea that needs a lot of difficulty and AI tweaking to really work. It was indeed a lot of spamming of thugs who are then summarily killed by bands of good guys or the hero (level 2) Fun idea that the creator is on the map itself. Work some more on this and then release it!

Rialgar says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Great one, some comments:

I hate the unkillable hero, he is just annoying and I ended up making him stuck in pathfinding, maybe make him respawn at a certain location instead of beeing unkillable

When I summoned units, old ones vanished, sometines the ones that where stationed to keep a village, that was very annoying, as I had to run back and recapture them

When the hero (or anyone else) approached a captured village, my close combatants left it and fought, I would have liked at least one per village to stay there instead

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:38pm

On the secound level there was things with 2 bars above them and they can not be destroyed. Are they the heroes? Or I don't know which one is it. But why the 2 bars if they can not be destroyed?

The thugs are disappearing randomly as I summon another. How to take over the towns then?

I think sometimes the Thugs are not figthing when they reach the enemy.

And how should I know if a thing is on my side or is an enemy? They all look the same for me.

That is all. But anyway this is a good idea. I'm sad that I couldn't enjoy it. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]