December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

I Wana Be The Villain

by Harrk - Jam Entry

I Wana Be The Villain!

This was originally going to be my entry for the main contest but I let real-life have too much time.
It's my first game using Java so I'm proud of myself despite there being a few bugs.

The game hopefully runs on all platforms, I haven't tested it on anything other than Windows.

Update:
Finished work early, did some extra work on the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Innovation(Jam)3.67
#36Theme(Jam)3.95
#44Audio(Jam)3.56
#70Mood(Jam)3.37
#129Overall(Jam)3.17
#149Fun(Jam)2.91
#170Humor(Jam)2.56
#183Graphics(Jam)3.09
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

The game looked great - The game sounded great. The concept was pretty good, and the second I walked over a town and saw [1] lower tax [2] raise tax; I felt evil. I was having fun trying to balance out taxing buying bosses and keeping the locals happy, however I felt that once a town turned on me it became less fun, because I couldn't get them to stop sending heroes to stop me even though I lowered everyone's taxes, I don't know if this was a mechanic or a bug, it was kind of unclear. Other wise the overall game and atmosphere was great.

Harrk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

I never thought about making it possible to allow them to be happy again. Once you hate your ruler, hate him hard. Jokes aside, I really didn't have the time and there was so much I wanted to add when I started doing my final updates.

I planned to have heroes roaming around but I haven't done any pathfinding algorithms before - will get some practice with that before the next LD.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Neat concept :) The art and music are really fitting. I like that it has some "dark" feeling to it. It would be cool if you could see the heroes wandering around on the world instead of just a progress bar. Also, yay for Java :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

A direct approach for this theme. Who doesn't want to be an evil tyrant ruling the land? But I felt it lacks two things: pressure and control. Too much of the game consists of waiting around, and too many of the game's functions are invisible or abstracted away.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Excellent game, had a lot of fun playing it. I could definitely see this becoming a full game if you wanted it to be.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Fun game. Would have been fun if we could have sent some guards to the towns and break them ;) lowering the amount of heroes send upon you.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:04pm

funny idea, to collect taxes ^^ really evil
nice art too

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:17am

great idea - i wish there was a bit more ways to be evil than raising and lowering taxes in terms of implementation though.

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:29am

Unfortunately, neither web nor downloadable version work for me. I get this error:
http://monosnap.com/image/2FN0hoctJMzsxyEzvhXQ8QVve

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:39am

Very nice, very nice. I like how innovative the concept is, and raising taxes is definitely one of the best ways to be evil, muahaha.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:50am

ditto on dekart's error here, and the .jar gives "Could not find the main class: com.dw.ld25.Main. Program will exit."

Harrk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:00pm

I have no idea why that error is appearing, it's usually due to the jars not being signed but since they have been :/
Suppose the main jar file would have worked if all else...

Thanks for mentioning it. I'm willing to throw a wild guess that Java 7 is the issue as that's what I compiled it for. I'll try throwing out a fix later.

Thanks :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Couldn't get the game to load on mac. :-(

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:33am

Very innovative, creative and pretty darn fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]