December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Legithief

by Amos Wenger - Jam Entry

You considered yourself the Prince of Thieves, never getting caught, always slippering through the net of the cops... Until one day you fall into the trap of a sly dragon! The only way out it to accept his offer: work for him and help him gain more money and power.

His plan is very simple: if someone destroys the home of a citizen, his insecurity will push him to contract a new insurance! Therefore the more you destroy, the more money you will get at the end!

============

Controls:

Mouse: look around, control where you look & aim when you throw molotovs
A/D: left and right movement
W/S: climb ladder and ascend stairs
space: jump
shift: run
Mouse left click: Use weapon
Mouse right click: Kick
1,2,3: choose weapon
esc: quit game
f1: skip level


============

Controls (level editor)

I: insert an object at the mouse position
Ctrl: remove snap while holding
D: hold to duplicate an object
Maj: select several objects at once
1,2,3,4: change the layer
F1: load level
F2: save level
esc: quit level editor

You have to know the items' name in order to add them to the level, this can be easily found in the folders "assets/items", "assets/tiles", "assets/props".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Humor(Jam)3.09
#103Graphics(Jam)3.58
#115Theme(Jam)3.52
#165Audio(Jam)2.77
#187Fun(Jam)2.71
#197Overall(Jam)2.87
#228Innovation(Jam)2.57
#237Mood(Jam)2.52
#711Coolness47%

Comments

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

though a little buggy, it's still a nice game. BTW what's panache?

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Would be a fun game - feels good to break things down. However, it has too many bugs and doesn't feel complete.
The graphics are good.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00am

for some reason it said I could not run the application for Mac OS.

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07am

@raincole: Thanks :) Panache is a french word that basically means "style", or "ruthlessness subtlety". It's a bit hard to translate really!

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:08am

@goulding57 What version of Mac OS do you have?

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

Not a bad game, but it is a bit frustrating trying to "break" the items with the baseball bat. Sometimes they fly across the room, most of the time you just get a "hit" sound.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

I really liked the audio and physics system. Nice art too, it fit well

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:24am

It's like get in and get rid of everything :)

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43am

Nice graphics that had great potential, but it was a bit hard to get used to the broken platform engine :P

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:59am

All the people talking about bugs: can you be a bit more precise? I think the most annoying thing is that you can get into platforms if you move left/right on a ladder that's close to a wall.

Another annoyance/bug might be the way the stairs work, what didn't help is that I didn't tell my level designer not to stack stairs directly on top of each other, which makes it really hard to have wtf-y behaviours...

Anyway, thanks for the feedback but when you say "broken platform engine", "too many bugs", please post more details about exactly what was bothering you. Thanks!

csanyk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:12am

He wouldn't turn to face right and the physics/controls seemed to be a bit off. Nice graphics and I liked the voice acting!

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:16am

@csanyk: You have to use the mouse! The mouse controls where you look, the keys control where you go, just like in an fps :) That's also how you aim to throw molotovs :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:46am

Appears malicious according to Chrome / Win 8 :( please try to fix this.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33am

The opening dialog caught my interest, as did tossing flaming bottles of oil onto furniture. If you continue to develop this, I wasn't sure how I could clear a level and sometimes felt unsure how to deftly move through a room.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:43am

This idea has a lot of potential. It's very strange how fun destroying stuff can be! I'd like see the object have different states of destruction.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:00am

I run the game and hear the audio, but I only see a white screen with a cursor.
I'm running a Windows 7 32-bit PC.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:07pm

I fall into the earth in the 2nd level.

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40pm

@bushmango There's not much I can do about this.. Chrome doesn't have an anti-malware built-in, it just says that when a file is "not commonly downloaded". It's on a server I own, and you can check it using any anti-virus/anti-spyware you want, it's 100% clean..

@hissssssssssss: What's your graphic cards? Do you have up-to-date OpenGL drivers? Also, can you try editing config/config.yml and set fullScreen to false?

@Spotlightor Gao: can you give more details? Where did you fall into the earth within the 2nd level? Doing what?

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:04am

For the short amount of time we had to make our games, I'm very impressed with that you've got here. The graphics are clear and colorful, the dialogue is witty and funny! the theme that you have here is very cohesive and the game play is interesting. a bit of advice though should you want to pursue this project further.

I had a hard time with the control scheme- not that I didn't understand it, but I found myself gravitating toward old control scheme methods and expectations. For instance having the mouse control the direction the character faces as well as the camera made me a little bit disoriented.

Great game!

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:08am

Just tried OSX version and got the following error:

http://monosnap.com/image/63421EHPI24iHUp6jk01lYC7l

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:14am

Hey everyone! I just updated the OSX version, it should now run perfectly on OSX 10.6.8 and up. Enjoy!

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:14am

Pretty interesting game, great art!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

I had a lot of fun whacking things, but I didn't understand what it is I did to trigger a 'win' for each level. I liked the controls and feel of the platforming - the bugs I encountered with it were that you could tap jump to climb up walls, and the player wasn't 'stuck' the ladder when using it, you could pull off to one side and get inside the ground. I moved down a ladder and kept going into the ground then popped right out into white space, but it triggered the level to complete. :D Great job on the art too, both quality and quantity.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:49pm

I thoroughly enjoyed the bugs, actually. I was amazed at my teleporting skills:D

Seriously, this is a cool looking game, that needs some work done on the controls, playability, etc. I feel we can't fully see the potential of the game until you guys really spend time polishing that aspect of it. Still, it was an ambitious project and you've gotten pretty far considering the time!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Bugs aside, this game was a heck load of fun. Be proud, sir :D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]