December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Idiot

by markengley - Jam Entry

You are the red guy. You are cleverer, stronger, richer, and a snappier dresser than the blue guy... but you will still probably lose this race.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Fun(Jam)3.04
#162Humor(Jam)2.60
#219Overall(Jam)2.78
#249Innovation(Jam)2.48
#269Mood(Jam)2.32
#279Audio(Jam)1.00
#297Graphics(Jam)2.18
#326Theme(Jam)1.48
#867Coolness39%

Comments

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11am

nice little game you got here; I really like the graphics, but it doesnt seem to have a whole lot todo with the theme

Kuothe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:12am

Really hard to control :(

Winterblood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Bit twitchy, but quite finely balanced - took me several attempts to beat him :) Could use more contrast on the obstructions though, it's a bit hard to see them. Nice job!

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Apparently, I won. Cool :) Not bad for a one-day jam!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Not really connected on theme... Nice gameplay tough.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:45am

YEAH AESOP! FABLE *THAT* YOU OL' STORY SPINNER! lol
Felt like a boss winning that game. Sure, it's got some issues, but still. I was invested. =)

Cyboot says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:08pm

At first i was: Wooo crazy controls - lost the game
2nd: hmm well controls are ok - lost the game
3rd: damn you almost won - lost the game
4th: ahhhh damn you stupid last block - lost the game
5th: yeah you win

Great game, intuitive to play, short and beatable :)
Good Job!

Avenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:25pm

When i first played this game i did not know what to do, but after a couple of minutes it became super fun to play!
Good job and Great game! :)

Gazok says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:58pm

I won! Eventually.

Giving up is a form of winning, right?
It was enfuriatingly difficult and weirdly addictive. When I finally won I was literally on the line with him. Good job!

jujule says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Nice little game. I won on my second try !

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:08pm

That was surprisingly fun!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:12pm

I think the gameplay would benefit from having some kind of tile-based movement versus freeform. (EX. hitting 'left' would move you one tile to the left instead of just adding a force in that direction).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]