December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Wrong Love

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mr. Brando likes goats. He likes goats very much. So much that his goal is to steal all the goats in the world and keep them for himself.

The goal in the game is to get as much coins as possible, get the goat and leave the house again. Where you start is also the place where you leave. The goat is heavy so don't always grab it after you see it, and don't be to greedy...

I created the game using haXe without library's, Paint.NET and GIMP. For the sounds I have used sfxr and autotracker-c.

Controls:
Movement: arrow keys
Console: `-key
Cheats: Find them yourself ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#164Audio3.03
#286Mood2.93
#310Overall3.09
#347Humor2.59
#356Graphics2.97
#358Fun2.85
#450Theme3.00
#561Innovation2.44

Comments

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21am

Goats are heavy. I got killed for being slow. I think the coins are a distraction, instead you could put more animal cages in, ones I can open and the animals run wild and cause havoc with the guards making the distracted but also more unpredictable.

Nice game anyways, well done.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25am

The graphics are a little too dark, and an introduction would be nice. Other than that it's quite fun.

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:15pm

I agree patricklorio. It's hard to see the difference between walls and floor tiles.

The flash lights are awesome :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:15pm

@TomK32: Nice idea's
@patricklorio I didnt have time for the intro, type Flashy in the console to get more light ;-)

jfroco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Super solid flashlight/stealth mechanics. The song is great. Reminded me of 80s arcade games. Congrats.

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Nice work on the flashlights.

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46pm

I like the "don't be discovered" mechanic, it works great :)

pbdiode says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:03am

This is a really great concept! It could use more contrast, and the levels seemed a little large, but overall a good experience!

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Good game. Like the light and overall mood. Carrying those goats is pretty tricky, but make the game more fun.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Having two separate objectives (coins and goats) didn't really appeal to me, especially since collecting coins didn't seem to get me anything. I would rather just finish the level. I appreciated that you designed so many levels, but wish there were more new elements or ideas in each one. I really enjoyed the music, but don't know if it really matched the theme of the game. The vision code effect worked out very nicely.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Interesting - it seems we have started out with quite similar ideas, and after that, we've chosen different directions. I actually thought about the player getting heavier once he gets treasure too, and then scrapped it because I didn't have enough time left!

Quite a nice game, good job!

someone says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Very nice. Excellent lights
Minor thing - going diagonally into walls stops you, it would be nicer if you slid along the wall. Got caught a couple of times by being too close to a corner.

Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:04am

@Joseph Miller: I created the levels in the last few minutes so didn't had time to add new items in the levels.
@someone: I was thinking about making that a bit better but I wanted to add other things first.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:58am

I really like what you've done with the flashlights, and how the walls occlude the light. It's great! I do wish the guards could see when you shine your light on them though.

Really nice tune, and bonus points for HaXe.

bukt says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:32am

So cool. Music is awesome and I really like MGS-style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]