December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pet Buster

by Nanolotl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy all the animals for no good reason!
Features a randomly generated world filled with various items and power-ups.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#28Overall3.88
#34Fun3.73
#45Graphics4.11
#76Humor3.52
#93Mood3.39
#339Innovation2.92
#345Audio2.48
#392Theme3.15

Comments

Ankerd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22am

really fun enjoyed it, time flied while i was playing this game :)

Bodysna7cher says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05am

Played right through and as with Ankerd, the time went by really quickly and was enjoyable

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

Awesome!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30am

Had a difficult time in the beginning until I use a little more caution. This is a fun game!

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42am

Awesome little zeldalike. While combat was rather drab (it was much easier to push enemies off the edge rather than bash them to death), it's supergood.

AaronYip says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54am

I really can't explain why this was so fun!

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:23am

really love the visuals in this one.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46am

Very well done. Everything works really well.

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48am

Very fun! Addicting! :D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:24am

That game was Evil xD

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02pm

This was great! I really liked the art style, but it was a bit easy because it turned into stand still and punch like crazy as the animals run into your weapon ;)

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Kittens! Goats! Puppies! This game rules :)

Was very pleasant to play. Once you are used to the unforgiving falls and the small attack radius, it gets easier. Didn't used the throw that much though.

MaTX says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Incredibly hard but really impressive quality wise. Great job!
P.s.
Next time please do some variations on the sfx, it's annoying to hear the same sfx constantly :D

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:27pm

great, great game, nice work!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:34am

@Nanolotl: Is it possible to get a web/mac build of this?

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:15am

@youdonotexist: I'd be able to do a Mac port if I had a Mac to export onto, but unfortunately I do not.

vivavolt says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:05am

Best entry I've played so far!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Nice work! Cool graphics and very fun! :D

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:17am

Mission Complete.

This is a pretty solid game with a good visual style. Also I liked how you can get the same weapon, but it have different stats and name. My only problem is that it became hard to find animals when you got further into it. Good stuff.

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:29am

Very nice presentation. I love the 2d graphics on the 3d board, and the randomness is very enjoyable. One of my favorites! What did you build this in?

Per says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:03am

You can't go wrong with that game mechanics :)
Great use of procedural generation.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]