December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Terminal Killer

by dev_redant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Terminal Killer is a puzzle game where you implement and run a virus on an innocent man's computer in under 250 seconds.

Try and beat the clock!

Flashing colors! Excitement! Oh, my!

No music or sound. I had a track, but it would probably hurt your ears. If you really want to hear it, the track's still in the source!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#213Innovation3.19
#433Theme3.06
#545Humor2.00
#673Overall2.38
#678Mood2.07
#720Fun1.88
#744Graphics1.63
#980Coolness30%

Comments

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Great idea.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:21pm

The flashing lights were a bit much, and I never passed the second stage (the K kept disappearing for some reason). Very good idea though, and good execution! The drawings introducing our hacker were funny :)

Milo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:52pm

I just couldn't figure out what to do with the 'K' in the second stage. What I saw was unique though.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Also got stuck at the code arranging bit: I think you had a bug where blocks got stuck under eachother so they moved together and became inaccessible (so it seemed). But I liked the idea!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Cool idea! But I have no clue what to do with the K. Also too little contrast for me.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Cool idea. Couldn't figure out the coding part. The flashing screen was too much.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Interesting idea. Too much flashing. Instructions animation made them too hard to read. Too much flashing. Did I mention that the flashing was really annoying?

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Nice idea. The code-stage with the K is really confusing. Would be cool if you could post a hint, how to solve it. I'd really like to play a bit further on.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:27pm

I sadly couldn't figure out how to "execute" my code in part two of the mission. Maybe you could give a hint on this Page?

dev_redant says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:29am

Thanks for the input! I added some hints to the bottom of the page, so just scroll down to see them.

dev_redant says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:32am

By "on the bottom of the page", I mean below the .SWF file itself :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]