Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

X-Moon

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Humans have been colonizing planets. It's time to stop them!

Take to your tank and destroy colonists to collect energy pods to charge a massive bomb. Detonate the bomb when it's fully charged to destroy the planet. Watch out, those pesky colonists are armed with some pretty advanced tech!

Controls:
W A S D - Move
Mouse - Aim and Shoot
E - Detonate bomb when it's charged

Press Enter to advance through screens. Press F1 to disable shaders during game. F3 to toggle fps during game.

Written in MoonScript, running on Love2d.
Music made in Renoise
Art made in GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#9Graphics4.43
#13Audio3.82
#15Fun3.92
#19Overall3.98
#24Mood3.85
#114Innovation3.50
#434Humor2.30
#490Theme2.92

Comments

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

I love how smooth it is and the 3d effect. I find using the tractor beam frustrating, but outside of that it's really fun.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

This looks and feels really good to play. Pretty awesome!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

Wow! That's the most amazing use of Love2D shaders I've ever seen. I'm going to have to look into GLSL...

Sos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24am

Amazing! Great job, man!
Also, does it work with anaglyph glasses?

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24am

Very nicely done. I really like the high level of polish. Plus, it's super fun (and HARD)! :)

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28am

Super rad. Enjoyed, but didn't beat (got to level 2). Nice presentation, all the effects are cool. I think I liked the shooting-up-and-exploding effects best.

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51am

Absolutely stunning. Shocked what you managed to do with LOVE.

The game gets brutal so fast, and it is super fun even when losing. It's much easier when you turn shaders off though.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12am

Great graphics- how did you even achieve that planetlike effect? I love it.

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

The 3D effect is really nice. But the tractor beam doesn't seem to work as it should? I notice the rocks/stone things to get pushed further away instead of closer to me. Kinda annoying. But good job!

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37am

Very fun and dynamic, I'm a fan of the RGB effect

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22am

Very good graphics! I liked the fake sphere thing. One of the best ones I have seen so far.

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

Crap, I don't have any 3D glasses to fully appreciate your game, and appreciate it I must.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Very nice game, and very hard, I like that, and the filters are awesome :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Wow, that's an amazing game, I love the graphics and the 3D effect, very nice :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:19am

Nice work, I bet this wasn't your first rodeo. ;)
The sphere shader thing is pretty awesome. I couldn't figure out how to pick up the powerups, but it was still a lot of fun. Good graphics + audio.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Wow, very smooth gameplay. It feels really physical the way the enemies get pushed back by your bullets. It looks great too, with the wacko red/green 3D effect, even though I couldn't find my anaglyph glasses. Too bad there's no sound :(

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59pm

leafo you've outdone yourself. this was awesome. looks fantastic.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46am

Amazing for 48hours of work. Well done.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:53am

Nice work, great presentation (graphics and audio), but I found the game way too hard.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Wow, this is amazing. Best LD game I've played so far by a long shot. I found to be far too hard though; couldn't make it past level one. There was also some occasional artefacts flickering; a bunch of vertical white lines.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:47am

I can't make it past the second level, but it's so fun, I'm considering trying to play it again tomorrow. A brilliant example of what Love2D can do. The break-down:

+Fun, addicting gameplay
+Great visuals
-Tractor beams work strangely sometimes
-A bit difficult, but that's only a minus for some people.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:40am

Graphics and audio are great. Core mechanics are fun and exciting. Is there any way to heal your tank? Sometimes the orbits of the energy pods was odd and too big to hit the pad and seems like I lost them. Loved the fake sphere.

mokujin says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Cool effects!

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:13am

Smooth, nice to play, and very complete gameplay. The non-shader game (F1) is much easier to play and should be the default IMO.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:46pm

I love graphics and 3D effect. The game is very hard but fun to play. I beat the first level, but not the 2nd. Anyway I'll play it again later. :)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:27am

Smooth to play and pretty damn nice looking! Good job :D.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:40am

Pity the world wasn't completely spherical, but other than that, I liked the gameplay and the music.

pereubu says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:41am

Damn hard, damn good looking, damn fun, and ogosh i hated you during all the 48h because of all the beautiful screens you putted there D:

PIXEL^3 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:50am

Awesome music, cool shaders, nice gameplay, I'd say this is by far the best LD25 game I've seen so far, and it's a löve2D game(love the framework)

bwdevel says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I LOVE this game. Great concept, great use of LOVE2D.

The only improvement I would have made would have been to be able to sit on the detonation pad and have accumulated energy slowly drained in return for health, at a very inefficient rate of course.

cardboard says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Very hard and very fun! It also looks amazing.

schnerble says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Great game! It's probably my favourite of the 60-something I've played in LD25. Sound is excellent, graphics work well, and it's fun to play :) It did take me a bit to realise what I was supposed to be doing to collect the energy, but then maybe I'm just slow... :) Nice one!

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Gfx/Music/Sfx... everything is great!!!! Best use of Love2D shaders capabilities I've seen. The game is a little too hard. But overall a terrific entry. Congrats.

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I really loved the planet effect, impressed that you were able to pull that off in Love2D. :-)

I liked the tractor beam mechanic, although it kept making me die. Overall, it feels very complete and polished, great work!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Interesting and disorienting spherical effect. Hard to play. Will have to try again and not die.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]