December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sixxy the Puppy

by vandriver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Round and round, Sixxy goes, but on this night he is desirous of a deeper level of havoc. Mommy Doggy stands in the way of a spectacular night!

All arrow keys, up jumps, down barks or might do other things, maybe.

Made with game maker, sounds from bfxr. Don't lap the mommy! you still get caught, even with behemoth. I intended to make that a victory or impossible but, you know, time limits.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#26Graphics4.22
#66Fun3.56
#82Overall3.58
#137Mood3.25
#144Humor3.20
#161Innovation3.31
#221Audio2.88
#442Theme3.04

Comments

machinas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

A bit tricky to figure out the ending, but fun and clever.

machinas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

also, nice sprite animations!

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12pm

That was really fun, and the graphics were great

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14am

I'm not sure if you intended it or not but the game crashed right when the dog was taken out to be put down. I laughed so hard. If you did intend it, genius, if not still very funny.

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

Awesome! Although I must say that only after reading the comments did I realize that running away from mother was the game core - I thought it was about wreaking as much havoc, without angering mommy, as possible. The pixart graphics are really nice.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

Awesome! The graphics are great. The game starts to take a pretty weird twist. I like it!

vandriver says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35am

haha, yeah the end is intended. it's a game_end, not a crash

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

Nice! Loved the concept and the atmosphere and the animations and liked how it plays too.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

Well, this one was pretty weird. First off, I don't get how this fits under "You are the Villain", the worst thing you really do is misbehave. However, I will admit that its pretty funny when you achieve behemoth. I had a blast plowing over everything. The graphics are good and the sound effects are okay. They give me sort of an early DOS vibe. The animations on the sprites are really fluid and well done. All in all, its okay, but a bit too short. Also, please don't try to do jump scares. No one finds them funny or scary anymore.

Eniko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

Really awesome graphics, so smooth looking. The ending was uhh, surprising! Took me ages to get there though, and I probably wouldn't have persisted without reading the comments.

vandriver says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:37pm

@GG love thorough critiques like this, though i'll take issue with the last comment. i make LD games mostly for myself, and i think they're funny!

i did kind of purposefully make it not intuitive what you had to do, again probably because i just like those kinds of games. i'll probably avoid doing that again for the next LD!

CappaGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, it felt really intense when the mommy would begin chasing.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:12am

this is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
thank you for this. It's a puppy simulator! The graphics and animations are superb

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:22am

Very nice job. Simple graphics, great animation, interesting idea.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:59am

I really enjoyed this game, the idea was very fresh and the gameplay was solid. At first I though the background was an incorrect parallax and it flavored my perception of it, but I quickly got that it was indeed a ring.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:10am

Pretty cool game. I felt more like a victim than a villain with that giant dog chasing after me :P

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:03pm

the graphics are fantastic, and the game is great overall!

Logan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:40am

Oh wow, did not expect that ending!

This game is great! It's a very cute concept, and I enjoyed the whole "figuring out the whole point of it" way that it starts. Very well done.

odrega says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:08am

Awesome! Took me a while to figure out what was happening, but really cool.

frosty says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:23am

Clever take on the theme, and really nice graphics/animations. =)

Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:54pm

totally a fun game. LOVED it. the animations are perfect and the wrap around level was simply cool! Nice take on the theme.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:07am

Fantastic!

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:21am

Did you make the bark noise in bfxr? It's very good! The animations are great, too, but the parallax background seems backward? It's a cute game:) I found it very hard to jump over dogs due to the background distracting me and moving too quickly to react in time.

You should try my Bad Puppy if you haven't yet.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Sounds didn't work so can't rate that, i like the concept though, my only real complaint is the hitboxes seem a lot larger than the dogs.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]