December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Chamber

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a dream thief. Fight incubi and nightmares on your way deep down into the dream chamber...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#52Audio3.52
#79Fun3.51
#212Overall3.28
#286Mood2.93
#351Graphics2.98
#478Innovation2.62
#530Humor2.06
#742Theme1.84

Comments

oldtopman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17am

The game is very solid, with only three bugs to note.
One: Every single floor says "Welcome to Level 2"
Two: Enemies get scarcer and scarcer the father you go down.
Three: You often enter a room right on top of an enemy.

The only detriment against the game is it's lack of villainous themes. However, the music is stellar, the gameplay is solid, and the graphics are coherent.

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44am

Pretty fun game. Got through a bunch of floors. Was getting really unlucky with weapon upgrades though so it was making things difficult. The music is really good.

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33am

Loved it, like a much better and well built version of my LD25 warmup: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25-warmup/?action=preview&uid=12229

Great job!

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05am

As a whole it's a decent game, but I can't understand why the main character is a vallian?

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

Sweet dnb background music! Nice touch having the upgradeable weapons.

I would suggest making the player's hitbox smaller, though -- you want it very tight to, or slightly smaller than, the actual sprite. I felt like it was too easy to bump into a projectile or enemy when it didn't feel very close. Nice job!

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

The game is fun. But I got mad with the wall collisions.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

Pretty solid and interesting. I particularly like Binding of Isaac-like games so yours has a special place in my heart. :3c

kannas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

very fun game! but the player is' t that...ehm...evil? :D

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Fun game, it makes me remember Knightlore and SmashTV. I like a lot that the dungeons are procedurally generated.

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09pm

On OSX the executable says date modified April 2 2012?

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Nice little roguelike--the controls are fluid. How are you a villain? Maybe some story?

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Lovely audio and rather mature game-play - impressive this is a 48 hour entry.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Alas, I often found myself entering a room on top of an enemy. In fact, I died like that after getting to Level 7 (or something in that region)
Other than this, the game is great, and I would love to try this again once I'm done playing LD games at random. Good Job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25pm

I don't see villainous themes, but the game worked ok well, though I sometimes had trouble going through doors and died when I spawned right on an enemy.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Cool sprites and sound effects!

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05am

A fun implementation of a Binding of Isaac-like game. I personally didn't feel a strong tie in with the theme, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Good mood and setting. Like the soundtrack and bleurgh sounds. Needs more tweaking wrt enemy numbers and capabilities (i.e. room of full of shooting enemies as my 2nd room on level 1 was a surprise) Feels like a modernised version of a NES game. Nice. Theme link is rather fuzzy.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Hi headchant! Was nice to see how you developed this. Finally, I can play it :D Here is my feedback:

- I like the music and the sound effects. Well done!
- The bubbles of your character and the enemies should have different colors. It gets really difficult for me to get was going on.
- Sometimes I entered a room, I "spawned" or ran into an enemy. Perhaps a small spawn protection?
- Graphics a funny. Sad that you hadn't more time for little animations.
- The difficulty after entering the 4th level gets really... hard. I always enter a room with ca. 10 (or so?) insane shooting monsters... no chance xD
- As you said in the blog post, you had no time for setting up the theme.
- The walls and sometimes the doors are a bit glitchy.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Great graphics and sound. Not overtly sold on the gameplay, but a fun experience all the same!

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:20am

Nice concept and pretty solid game. This is definitely one of the better games I've played. The only problem I have is that it's so freaking hard to walk through doors, lol. You should have made the player's mask smaller, or have him able to walk along a wall when you are going in a diagonal direction against a wall instead of getting stuck on it. But yeah, this is good stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]