Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BendoReflector X-25

by caribou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Multiplayer online game about school shootings in the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Innovation3.47
#389Audio2.33
#404Graphics2.83
#433Overall2.84
#450Theme3.00
#484Fun2.59
#560Mood2.41
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

Cool job and great story behind it :)

I read it all, you love that font, isn't it? :)

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13pm

You should maybe use another Font/Background combination next time ;)
But good Game

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Interesting. I wasn't sure what the to do as the white player, but the fact that this is online multiplayer is awesome!

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Never really got into a round where anything interesting happened. Also: too soon.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57am

Connection error! :(

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

It seems I'm the first to connect.

It is a nice idea for a little online shooter.

Me fingers kept moving from ESDF to WASD and I still liked killing that green guy with his own shoots :D

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23pm

Extra: Its the 2nd game I see with some networking, which is greater. And the other is the one we made :|

caribou says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33pm

@Lidfrid
Thanks ! Yes i've not really chosen that font, time chose it for me *cough*

@Dioiminik
Yep you are right :/

@ix
I fail to find a counter-argument for the interesting part, sadly.
"too soon", the idea was to react about it, there's no point for me to make that game later and i don't believe in a kind of reaction latency need towards those kind of events, towards any event actually.

@Mythalore
Sorry, i regularly connect to the game to check if the server hasn't died yet and it's ok right now, try to refresh or something :/

caribou says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37pm

@Hexot
Haha, a labyrinth speedrun, interesting :D

You should definitely check Ore Chasm it's multiplayer and everything is awesome about it http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=3041

killmonday says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Had to get a friend play it too since I was waiting for another player forever :) The game had a really nice retro feel to it, and if nobody wins by shooting eachother then its a mindblaster :D

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Maybe it's because it's 7 AM, but the game never starts... :(

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:35pm

I couldn't try it out, it just waited for more players.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Waiting for someone to play...

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:32am

Tried to play it several times now, and apparently no one connects. Too bad, it looked cool! Good luck!

TheSheep says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:04am

The back story is very gloomy.

caribou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:39am

Sorry for the lone guys (and girls), it's indeed empty so you'll have to come with a friend or just drop the link on #ludumdare@AfterNet on IRC.

Also i've found that it's buggy in some scenarios that i can't seem to reproduce, just refresh the page.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nope, I will never read something that lengthy especially with a font this bad and with a color that makes my eyes flowing out of my eyeholes. Other than that, "waiting for more players..."

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:07am

Waiting for players :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]