Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zomega - Cambrian_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zomega

You are the last zombie. The zomega. Get into the house to eat the last survivors.
There are three endings. Two 'puzzle' endings and one... other ending.
Please explore and interact, that's the whole point of the game.


Instructions

WASD, Mouse to move.
Ctrl or Left click to use your left arm.
Space or Right click to use your right arm.
Escape exits.

Tiny Non-Compo Update
I've uploaded a non-compo version with two changes/fixes:
- The opening narration that I had disabled is re-enabled.
- The window now captures your mouse. Yep.

The Windows version is available in the links. Other ports are available below.

http://www.cambrian-man.com/zomega/Zomega_Mac_noncompo.zip
http://www.cambrian-man.com/zomega/Zomega_Linux_noncompo.zip


Known Bugs/Issues

Sometimes narration can pile up a bit. Sorry.
Detection for interaction can be a little finicky.

And there are probably a bunch of combinations that I never tried that bug things out. I have not tested this on a Mac or Linux.

View Cambrian_Man's journal. | View all entries by Cambrian_Man

Ratings

#8Humor4.10
#22Audio3.74
#37Theme4.04
#48Graphics4.09
#53Mood3.60
#86Overall3.57
#145Fun3.32
#182Innovation3.27
#742Coolness46%

Comments

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

Solid entry, I really liked the graphics.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44am

I am Goat Hand! :D There's a lot of humor in this one. I like it a lot.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

Pretty fun. I was only able to figure out The lock smith ending though. Nice job on the music it entertained me.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06am

I liked it. Got the locksmith ending. Good job!

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31am

Got the locksmith ending! Amazing graphics :O

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33am

Well, I got all three endings... I dedicate this review to you, Cambrian. Good job on a great entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Damn, the app didn't capture the mouse. Might be a VM issue. Grunt. Did like the sounds and holy cow graphics for a 48hr entry.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:10pm

I loved the idea, reminded me Stubbs The Zombie, though window collision detection wasn't great, had to check the sources to find out what was I doing wrong :D

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Mac OS X Users: the app won't start because for some reason the execute permission is not set on the binary. To fix, terminal, cd <drag folder of Zomega in there> cd Contents/MacOS; chmod +x Zomega. Now you can run it. Other Unity stand alone apps I've gotten on LD have this problem too (but not all)

Now that I could actually play it got Locksmith and Goat Hand, trying for 3rd ending. Creative stuff!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:22pm

W00t, got ending Dedicated. To others, just ask: Would a zombie run around collecting items and solving puzzles?

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Thanks for the info, zenmumbler! Unfortunately, I won't have access to a Mac until after judging is over, but at least that was Mac users can play it.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:45am

I really couldn't figure out how to get inside the house :/

I wanted to eat the goat.

Nice graphics, great audio, spooky BGM.

someone says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Linux version didnt grab the mouse on Ubuntu 11.1
Nice entry though.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:24am

someone, and anyone else having issues with mouse not grabbing: try the non-compo version. Rate the original however you'd like, of course, but I'd rather people be able to play it.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:28pm

"You learnt that electricity is made of electricity" Cool game :D

Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:30am

Liked the music a lot. Got the locksmith ending. Picked up the goat and charged him with electricity but couldn't find what to use him on? Mouse sensitivity was super fast and near uncontrollable for me on OS/X with a Razor DeathAdder mouse. Solid entry for 48 hours.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:24pm

It lags badly for me, I couldn't done anything other than banging on things. :(

Nice narration though and I think I like to be a zombie. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]