December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lovely Santa

by joe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Santa and bring a nice and fluffy christmas feeling to the people.


If you install love2d you don't need to download the binary files, you can run the .love file instead.

(Used https://love2d.org/ with http://vrld.github.com/hump/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Humor3.37
#271Fun3.05
#321Theme3.30
#490Overall2.76
#534Mood2.46
#580Graphics2.35
#665Innovation2.21
#831Coolness41%

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

Lovely! My favorite part is squishing them when they're down. I think I'll give it another shot! It needs some Christmas music playing in the background - jingle bells or something.

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

It says press esc, but you really have to press enter.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

At first I was confused, then I saw the letters change real quick, then I started playing... and within like 10 seconds I was giggling.

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Epicly funny :D Real nice sandbox game.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

At first glance, this game appears to be one about quitting, not about villany. However, after digging through the source code and finding that you're supposed to press enter, it would appear to be one of a genocidal Santa Claus. Is there something I'm missing here?

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Hint: The coder is the true villian ^^

joe says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

I am! hahaharr

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Yeah, I'm not sure about that start screen :s

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54pm

haha, go Rudolph! Now I now why he has a red nose!
It's the second game (of the four I played) with a misleading start.
This theme doesn't bring out the best in people ;)

I had fun.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Most violence game i played.. but why don't you did blood spots on the ground?

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:48am

I just remembered another comment I had... your game over screen has the potential to induce an epileptic fit.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:10pm

Okay except the fact that I pressed escape and not enter, it was a fun thing !

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:08am

I broke it and the game yelled at me. Pretty brutal, even for a Christmas game. Though I enjoyed it. Thanks Joe.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I sat next to him as he programmed this game. After playing it, I'm a bit scared now :D

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Wow this is really evil! Nice game. Tons of blood.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:03am

Well if that wasn't sadistic I don't know what is! Good job :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]