Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kleptomaniac - Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kleptomaniac is a stealth action game where you have to steal stuff without getting noticed.

The controls are:

W+S+Mouse: Movement
Shift: Move camera
M: Mute sound

Thank you all for an amazing fifth Ludum Dare!

View Sanguine's journal. | View all entries by Sanguine

Ratings

#254Theme3.45
#303Humor2.72
#356Fun2.86
#361Mood2.78
#389Audio2.33
#505Overall2.74
#534Innovation2.50
#580Graphics2.35
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:17pm

it was fun

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03am

Was really fun and challanging to play, couldnt find and bugs so far =) definitly worth trying!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

It.. was.. annoying to control the character. I think it would have been more fun with wasd movement or arrows

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Well, I personally didn't enjoy this one. The movement is really awkward. You have to move with the z key while moving the mouse to move. This gets annoying really quickly, especially on a laptop mousepad. It probably would be better to use the arrow keys. I don't really like the look of the graphics, but that's just me, and its not like it kills the gameplay. Other than that, its okay, but it could probably be better. If you were to continue this, the first thing I would suggest is to make the character move with the arrow keys. That alone would make the game run so much smoother and fun to play.

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Fun, challenging, good control mechanic.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50pm

@Gravity Games, are you on AZERTY? Because W+S works if you are on normal QWERTY

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Can be frustrating at times, mostly due the fact that you stop whenever you hit a wall. Otherwise, fun to play.

epiplon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

The character is bad (like a real thief) and was fun to play.
I just wish that I could see farther than this, because the enemies have a larger line of sight than you and sometimes I didn't knew if they were there.
But it was still fun to play, so I'm giving a good rating.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:45am

That's reminds me about HotLine Miami :D I think you got inspired from it :D

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44pm

This was fun! The walk animations are hilarious :D The ai is smart enough to be challenging and reasonable. Would love to see more mechanics built into it :D

Here's a mini review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#Sanguine

lucasncv says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49pm

quite fun :D

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13pm

i'd REALLY enjoy this if it wasn't for the horrendous collision detection.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:59pm

The walk animation made me laugh so hard, that I didn't even notice any control-flaws :) I actually had quite some fun playing this.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Challenging fur sure. I beat it haha. Collision needs a little work, unless the walls are supposed to be sticky. Why the weird movement controls? it'd been easier just to have the keyboard move the dude and/or the mouse used just to face a certain direction. dunno, that's just how i thought!

schnerble says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Good work - but then, I would say that, given that my game is similar ;) Graphics were a tiny bit glitchy (strange vertical lines appeared that looked like errors), but the music was good, and the sound effects did the job. It mostly seemed a bit easy, but then I kept getting caught on the medicine level from rushing too much - so maybe it's just right :)
Have to admit I find the controls a bit awkward, but then I've always been more of a fan of using the keyboard for directions than using the mouse for a walk-to direction.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]