Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

From The Black - arkeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help defend the colonies from an onslaught of enemy starships.

You'll need to at least beat normal mode to understand the theme.

Difficulty ramps up quickly in Story Mode+ and Story Mode++.

I suggest playing the full 2x version, but if you are on a smaller resolution, you can play the Halfsize 1x version.

Created with Axel:
http://axgl.org/

View arkeus's journal. | View all entries by arkeus

Ratings

Fun4.19
#10Overall4.06
#25Mood3.83
#50Graphics4.06
#52Audio3.52
#348Innovation2.91
#445Humor2.28
#538Theme2.81
#817Coolness42%

Comments

SXPanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59am

This game is very fun, but how does it fit the 'You are the villain' theme? I completed the story mode and it seemed like you were playing as the good guys.

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:49am

[SPOILERS]

I'd call eradicating the last remaining humans from the planet earth as villainous from the human's point of view.

Most logical villains won't appear to be the bad guy from their point of view. But if you're on a ship carrying the last remaining humans, and are attempting to hail the first signs of life you approach to get resources, and they end up killing you... Wouldn't you think they were the bad guy?

I'll leave it up to you to interpret it as you like. :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26am

Really good!!!

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

So much content, it's INCREDIBLE! I don't know how you do it in 48 hours.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

Good old fashioned space carnage. Very well executed

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

pretty fun!, but i couldnt figure out which is the enemy and which is the powerup

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

Really, really well put together.

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43am

This is definitely one of the stand-outs I've played so far. I even went through and completed the story (even though there's loads more to play from the look of it).

I kinda sucked so there was a lot of grind to upgrade my ship, but I really liked message you conveyed, here. Bravo!

Arcantic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

I always look forward to your submission each dare, you always have addicting gameplay and great graphics. Never hit too hard on the theme though, but this time somewhat fit. Great work.

Pash says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27am

Really great entry. Enjoy playing this one.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:55am

Is it me or does the enemies sometimes pop off a shot as they are dying? :)

Nice game, like the tons of abilities to upgrade. Quite challenging, too.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

Something mildy different, woo! Love the upgrade-system, as always :)

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Great game! I felt bad at the end. Poor humans

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

Wow. Extremely well polished for 48 hours!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01am

I really enjoyed this. At first I wasn't understanding how this fit the theme, and then I beat story mode and was like "I see what you did there...". Very well done sir, very well done! The bar has been raised a little bit higher...

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Wow. That kept me playing for a good amount of time. Amazing for a 48 hours game! great job. But I suck at this game. :D

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Fun! Some greatly satisfying moments in there. Top-notch entry as always.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:24am

Not a bad little shooter. Had fun with it, but I always lose track of the mouse cursor in games like this. Lot of upgrades and content for 48 hours. Good job.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:40am

Always look forward to your entries, Arkeus! This one was a pretty engaging, classic dual-stick shooter, and I enjoyed it a lot :D

Hatscat says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:12pm

So polished!! very well done! i had lot of fun, but i don't feel evil :p

Mythalore says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:28pm

First LD game I've got to hundred percent with! Amazing!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:09am

Fun! Quite a nice slick graphic style too.

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:13am

This game would be ROCKING if it had dual analog stick controls, like any good arena shooter:) WASD + trackpad on a laptop makes it SO hard. I really liked the powerup system and everything else about it, just add joypad support and it'd be 10x better than it already is.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Great game. I liked the upgrade system and the feel of the game. I wish I didn't have to start at the absolute beginning each time I died until the boss fight. It just felt tedious once I was powerful enough for it not to be a challenge. That is a pretty minor complaint though. I liked the interpretation of the theme and the game was very fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]