December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Another Day at Villain Inc.

by ahnimal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So my idea was to make an beat em up platformer, with a cliche supervillain/superhero theme. I usually go for a much simpler graphics style so this time I wanted to go for something more detailed. It turned out decent, I think.

Basically you play as Dr. Goat, who works at Villain Inc. and follow him on his adventure to the store to get some coffee. Dr. Goat needs his coffee.

I got all the mechanics done, but only the first and last scene got finished. If I used my time better there would've been a section in the middle where you walk through the streets or traverse the rooftops, or something along those lines, while bringing rampage to the people of the city.

I learned a lot from this Ludum Dare, including how easy it is to make a simple AI. I wasted a lot of time on nothing, but who even cares. The game is done. Next time though, I will stick with a simpler graphics style and concept. Drawing everything is way too exhausting for me.

Goodnight

[Guide]
If you're having trouble winning, just remember to block only when he attacks, and keep hitting him whenever you can. Punches do more damage, but leaves you open, so punch him a few times right after he attacks and then pull back and shoot at him, so you're ready for his next attack.
He can only attack once every 5 second (+/- about 2 seconds), but he will kill you in 4 hits if you don't block. 8 hits if you do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#52Humor3.65
#203Graphics3.39
#286Mood2.93
#357Theme3.24
#379Fun2.82
#474Overall2.79
#685Innovation2.12

Comments

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:21am

short but awsome, that fight was epic

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:30am

how do i do a babality? i bet kittenboy is adorable!

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59am

Very short, but utterly hilarious.

CaptainIcy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:04am

Haha, this is so great! I love the overall "style" the game has. The graphics are nice, writing is fun, and the game was short but fun too of course. Great work.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13am

Nice, got a good laugh out of me.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:41am

Great style!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55am

Could use some indication of health.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57am

Love the art. Dr. Goat has the most villainous leap I've ever witnessed.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22pm

This really made me smile, nice graphics and a great take on theme.

Holofire says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Amazingly awesome!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:29am

Well done on the art, better than decent I'd say.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Very funny. Did i see a penis?

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Quite good, except kittenman was some sort of hulking beast that was indestructible. I blocked his attacks but he killed me every time. :O

Maybe you should try to soften him up.

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:32am

Really nice! this gets five humor stars!

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:18pm

The superhero AI was surprisingly good and challenging. I did beat it, but some kind of sound effects or music would've been helpful in making the experience more engaging. The store background was very good as were the animations.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]