December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Unwavering Evil

by DrSuperSocks - Jam Entry

This is a game where you must kill hordes of brave marines who are trying to save the world from your unwavering evil. Use your telekinesis, spontaneous explosions, and lighting powers to annihilate them!

Controls:
WASD - Move
Hold Space - Lightning
Left click on object and drag - telekinesis
Right click - spawn spontaneous explosion

Telekinesis and spontaneous explosions drain your mana.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Theme(Jam)3.55
#190Graphics(Jam)3.05
#235Fun(Jam)2.48
#284Overall(Jam)2.43
#285Mood(Jam)2.17
#288Humor(Jam)1.67
#292Innovation(Jam)2.10
#711Coolness47%

Comments

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:10am

too much health

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17am

Accidentally telekinesing yourself off the screen can be a bit confusing. Very nice explosions.

Trigun7000 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34am

This was a pretty cool concept, I just wish there was more to it.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Cool and old school! Reminded me of Robocop and Rampage

DrSuperSocks says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:21am

Thanks! For health I thought that was a good amount since it gets pretty hard and you can collect help, but perhaps I just suck at the game :P For telekinesing yourself, whoops! I forgot to take that out (being able to telekinese yourself). And for the lack of content, me and my friend got pretty lazy and stressed towards the end! I was kind of frantic to fix all of the bugs.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Cool little brawler, though the plane explosions gave me out of memory errors from the gpu. At least I think the planes were supposed to explode, can't know for sure since the game became unplayable when it happened. Must have been really cool explosions though so it's not necessarily a bad thing :)

DrSuperSocks says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Yeah, one of the explosion sprite sheets is very large (about 10 mb), so I can see this happening on an older GPU. I'll definitely work on a real particle system for the next LD.

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:15am

Not bad! Telekinesis was a little disappointing; I wanted to be able to move things horizontally, smash mechs into infantry, and that kind of thing.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:12pm

Well, some nice explosion effects in here, and the game was reasonably fun. It felt like a bit of an unavoidable bullet hell at times though, and you could mostly just tank all the damage early on.

Overall pretty nice, although I think you spent way too much time on explosion effects and not enough on making gameplay mechanics..

~Spaceoff

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Can't play windows games

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:17am

Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

You can ping me on Twitter (@youdonotexist) if you need any help testing a build.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:04am

Thanks for the game!

The jumping control was a bit wonky - it seemed that sometimes I was able to double jump, sometimes I wasn't.

Also I ended up almost never using the lightning - it just took too long to kill anything with it. Maybe it needs some balancing.

It was a cool idea to have the airplanes explode in contact, so that you could throw soldiers and robots at it.

Some sound effects would be extremely welcome in this game.

Good luck next LD!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]