December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kingpin

by naxum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Note: The download looks a lot nicer, and if you're lagging somehow you can lower the settings through that.

Oh boy! So much more I wanted to do... I may consider working on it later!

Description:
Go from Meth peddler to kingpin, all while avoiding the police and DEA in this top-down simulation game.

Controls:
Click to select (and center on) a tile. Use WASD to rotate camera if you wish. (Up and down are sticky for some reason).

Hints:
Meth Labs can only be placed in empty tiles, and they are your main supply of meth, which you sell to the neighborhood tiles and the city(cube) tiles.

The more drug dealers you have on a tile, the more meth you can sell to the people in that tile, and the more suspicious the police will get.

Enforcers can be sent to clean up evidence and suspicion, and have a lower chance of being arrested by the police.

Let me know if you enjoy it, and if there's anything you wish I did differently!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#114Theme3.78
#133Overall3.44
#252Innovation3.11
#317Graphics3.05
#374Mood2.76
#429Fun2.72
#514Humor2.08
#884Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Very cool sort of strategy experience, you can go quite deep in this one. It could probably have used some sounds though ;)

oldtopman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The game in the middle window doesn't appear under OSX (10.6.8). It still seems to work, as I could select (what seemed) to be different towns and buy drug dealers.

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03pm

This game looks really great but I am not making enough to create a profit.
Would love to see a more fleshed out version of this.

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

I love sim games! -- this one was really hard to figure out. Couldn't get people to buy the meth-- Tried 4-5 times to get something going. Fun concept! (Meth sucks though- stay away!) :D

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Nice game. I had trouble figuring out what to do so perhaps a tutorial of some kind. Impressive though and seems like it could be expanded into a full game.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

the breaking bad influences are great. needs a tutorial and other stuff, but this could be pretty cool and catch some attention if you make it into a full breaking bad game.

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04pm

pretty awesome game but not really for me still really liked the concept

celsyum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:21pm

cool game , but its hard to play

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Nice game. The camera should be smooth or free.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Sorry can't rate, the download was windows only and I don't have windows.

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Haha, breaking bad, great idea!

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Interesting strategy game. I think this idea has a lot of potential. The UI and me didn't become friends, though. I'm also missing more overview over what I was owning and where I was dealing. There seems to be a bug where the town model wasn't updated after you abandon the area and then return.

Lapinou says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Maybe need more information about all the features, and how the system works, but it's a very nice management game.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Made me feel like I was Walter White, more games like that are needed!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]