About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 1 hour, 30 minutes, 16 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 2 hours, 30 minutes, 16 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Infidel - Winterblood - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Loot all the gold in the temple, but don't let the guards catch you! Use the shadows. Put out torches to create paths.

    TURN INVERT Y OFF in the Pause menu if you don't like it!

    No goats, sorry :(

    As usual, it's not quite finished. The guards are somewhat reminiscent of Daleks and the temple is a lot smaller than I imagined it. Unity's dynamic shadows are a bit hard on the GPU too, apologies if your machine struggles with it...

    View Winterblood's journal. | View all entries by Winterblood

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #143Mood3.24
    #356Graphics2.97
    #455Fun2.66
    #476Theme2.94
    #490Overall2.76
    #520Innovation2.53

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    This is a really good basis! The game is alrady fun, avoiding guards feels good, and teh shadow-mechanics are great :)

    Nice work!

    But why is the mouse inverted ahhhhh

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

    You can toggle mouse invert in the pause menu. Learned my lesson on that in LD20 ;)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Nice idea with mostly good graphics (except the guards) but the inverted mouse really makes it almost unplayable, you should probably make it optional.

    andytouch says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Neat idea! Some great lighting effects.

    Could have some sound/better 3D models as opposed to the default capsules.
    Also, the controls are a little bit too responsive.

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    Its nice and moody, and I think you should have just made the bad guys Daleks ;)

    I think pickups should stand out a bit as I kept missing them, but then it made me check every corner which kinda added the experience!

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Really lovely lighting and a great overall mood. Would be nice to have a little something to set the scene.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Unfortunately I cannot rate Unity3D web games (I'm on Linux :( ) I could run either a Linux standalone (if you're on Unity 4) or a Windows one. Would you consider exporting one of these ?

    filtoid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Really enjoyed - good game - nice lighting. The inverted mouse thing was annoying me until I stumbled across the option on the menu. Very good - sound would've made it perfect :)

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

    Reminds me of Thief :) it's good except that i can't find all the gold !

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    I figured out how to change the mouse inversion but this shouldn't be default!

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Nice stuff. Some sound indicating that a guard has spotted you would go a long way though.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:03am

    Grungi - I've exported a Linux version, but can't test it here. Hopefully you can open the zip and I haven't missed anything :)

    Thanks all for the comments - yeah I planned to have sound, and better AI, and proper enemy models, etc. Just ran out of time...

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28am

    Nice lighting... but oh man, the mouse inversion...

    markengley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Environment looks lovely. I'm not sure that unwrapping it was best use of time as the texture doesn't add loads in this case - its all about the geometry and lighting you've added.

    Core mechanic works really well. Gold is maybe a little hard to see, but this plays into the exploration of the environment.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:28pm

    The lighting provides a good mood for the whole game and it seemed to work well AFTER I switched the Y-look axis (it also resets when you restart the game, but annoying).

    However, I can't seem to find any gold? I think I walked back and forth and looked in most places so I should have found something? Am I missing something obvious?

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    I can't seem to find all the gold. It's nice seeing a 3D game that looks good, but it's a shame there's no audio. Nice entry overall!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    Pretty cool! I am enjoying these dark space-safety zone games. No idea if that's a real genre, but it sounds cool :P Great job!

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    Thief with Daleks - excellent concept that needs expanding on. Seriously, some Dalek voice effects would make this awesome "INTRUDER! IN-TRU-DER!!!"
    Definitely needs some indication of when you're in danger of being spotted.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    I may make a Dalek version, it'd be awesome - at least until I get the cease-and-desist letter from the Beeb's lawyers :)

    HINT: Most of the gold plaques are mounted on the walls...

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    The mood with the shadow is really good, too bad you didn't add some noise like the wind, fire crackles or footsteps (lack of time I guess, and I can understand as I faced the same problem)

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:40am

    Tight! Enjoyed it for a bit. Thank you for including Y-axis reversal, too. =) My only suggestion would be to add a larger hit box for touch collision detection, as trying to hit the gold and torches exactly was a bit of a chore (especially when under pressure!). How did you measure brightness, by the way? Did you raycast from lights to the player and check the distance versus the radius of the light?

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:21am

    Nice game, my first idea was actually very similar but then I changed my mind. It's bit too dark it was hard to find the gold.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Oreganik - yes, each light within range raycasts to the player and adds the appropriate amount of light (actually using a linear falloff because I was in a hurry, TBH).

    For the post-compo version I'm contemplating making the guards' line of sight check also cast beyond the player, so that you're most hidden when close to a surface - and standing in a small patch of shadow in the middle of a lit room doesn't hide you much :)

    recursor says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    I really like the shadow gameplay mechanic. You've created a nice ambiance with the level design and lighting. Add a few more fun ingredients and you'll have a solid and fun stealth game. Nice job.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:28am

    Very nice!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:45am

    The lighting is great, and being able to turn off the torches adds a good level of stealth options. If you turn them all off, you'll have trouble seeing.. but so will the guards. Very cool.

    As for the gold, it was really hard for me to find more than about 4 bars. Maybe make them shimmer once in a while to make them easier to spot? Or some kind of limited "thief mode" view with a cooldown where you can easily see them?

    All in all, it is a pretty good game idea! I hope you keep developing it :)

    Also! The mouse inversion option is great, although I'd have set the default to off instead of on, thanks for including it!

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:32am

    Really nice looking level with some excellent lighting going on here but I couldn't see any more than 2 bits of gold which made progress really tough, some particle glints would have really helped me out there. No audio which is a shame as it could have boosted the mood of the game further. Footsteps and some clanking of the guards would have been great but then again, there's only 48 hours! A decent entry which, with some more consideration for the player would be great!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]