December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Paradise Island

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Paradise island: a perfect utopia, free from war and strife. Until now. Play as the evil Dark Lord, and conquer Paradise island. Loot the island, and use that money to build defenses to hold off the Knights of Light.

Controls:
Click - Move
1 - Buy and place spike trap at cursor. These deal a lot of damage, but nearby rogues will warn people before they step on them.
2 - Buy and place flame pedestal at cursor. These fire homing fireballs.
3 - Buy and place dark crystal at cursor. These reduce your cooldowns by 15% for each one active.
4 - Buy and drink health potion. This restores you to full health over 8 seconds.
Q - Cast firebolt at cursor. Deals high damage to a single target.
W - Cast ice bolt volley at cursor. Sends out five heavy chunks of ice that knock enemies back.
E - Cast gate. Teleports you to your cursor instantly.
R - Extort Villagers. Gets money from nearby villagers that have a gold piece floating over their heads.

Defeat each wave, and kill all enemies to win.

Enemy Types:
- Knight: Deals damage, but only in melee. Tough to kill.
- Rogue: Throws knives, but has less health than knights. Warns nearby allies of traps, making them useless if rogues are present.
- Cleric: Heals allies and villagers.

Note: The game is about 5MB, and make take some time to load, especially over slower connections. While it is loading there will be a blank white box where it will appear.

Tips:
- If an enemy collides with a flame pedestal or a dark crystal, they will smash it in one hit, although they will not go out of their way to do this.
- Keep the villagers alive, they're your only source of income and they don't respawn.
- If the game doesn't fit in the window, press F11 (at least in Firefox/Chrome) to go full screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Audio2.89
#308Theme3.32
#361Mood2.78
#371Innovation2.84
#397Humor2.39
#414Overall2.89
#417Fun2.74
#571Graphics2.37
#912Coolness35%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16am

Nice, fast pace. I like the motion

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Oh man! I really like this, but I did fumble with the controls a bit. Also, I feel the spike traps should be bigger, the heroes never stepped into them for me :P Keep up the good work!

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:21am

On my resolution, I couldn't access any of the controls :/

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:32am

Good idea and implementations, I think it's really hard, though.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Not very easy to control on an azerty keyboard where the numbers have to be accessed by pressing shift. However, the fast-paced nature of the gameplay made me try to master it for a good long while. Polished and with a refined control scheme, this could become something quite nice. Also, nice way of handling the restart :)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:40am

Pretty darn cool. I, too, was fumbling with controls and died many times quickly. With a bit more work on making it possible to set up stronger defences this game would be a winner. I imagine it already took a fair bit of work though. Well done.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:03am

Very nice game. I had fun playing it. Controls are a bit tricky. Nice music!

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:04am

Very cool, I like the spell effects.

eraldo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:09am

Nice.
I would have liked to control the character movement with keys as well.

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:50am

It's a very cute game, and it was fun to extort the villagers. It was too hard though, as others have said.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Foiled! :) I didn't expect this game to be fast paced at first, but that was a fun surprise, and the music is nice. Needs a restart button. Yes, very fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]