December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fleeced

by shiftingParadigms - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with the directional keys or wasd.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#450Theme3.00
#545Humor2.00
#660Fun2.11
#689Mood2.00
#697Graphics1.95
#701Overall2.25
#709Innovation2.00
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

Took me a bit to realize they moved in a patter. It might be a good idea not to have "par" be the minimum you can do it in, players always like to feel like they've beaten par.

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39am

Nice little concept. Puzzles where you try to minimize your moves are indeed fun. Might like it if the game pushed the user towards hitting par or lower a bit more.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19am

The par is really really stingy. Otherwise, there's no way to lose--maybe a maximum number of moves?

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

It's a cool idea, being the wolf and hunting down the sheep. I just wish they didn't follow a set pattern. I think as a wolf you would want to corner the sheep in order to feel like you're really hunting them. Otherwise it seems like the sheep don't care whether they live or die.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19am

There's a great pleasure when the blood is on the grass.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Cool puzzle game concept. Would be nice to have more level progression and a maximum number of moves so you have to 'solve' the level before progressing.

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05pm

What's my goal? What's a good score?
There's no way to know what to do or what have you done.
On the first level, i just press up and... I win. Why?

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Par was way off, it feels more like the "optimal" solution than just "par".

I don't see how I'm the villain either. A wolf eating sheep seems like a natural part of life, no? I think it needs to be developed further in this aspect.

A lose condition would be good, it's not necessary but it would make the game a whole lot more engaging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]