About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 19 hours, 24 minutes, 35 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 19 hours, 36 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 20 hours, 24 minutes, 35 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Boxy Computer Virus - Rialgar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are a Computer Virus in a Tron-like world, survive against all the Anti-Virus programs and collect their Data to develop or repair yourself.
    Esc, P, M or Pause to open Menu.

    Features:
    - Boxes (you and enemies)
    - Spheres (bullets and "data"(loot))
    - skill tree
    - changing wireframe terrain
    - All HTML + Javascript (using WebGL)
    - Shittiest and shortest background music loop ever XD

    Have fun and leave a comment

    Browser-Support:

    - Best in Google Chrome
    - loosely tested in Firefox(a little bit laggy)
    - no idea of Safari, it is not available for windows in current version
    - not hippster enough for Opera
    - IE does not support WebGL

    "Source - xhtml" links to the game without a website around it, so do not be alarmed, it will run, too.

    Did a little performance improvement for FF on Wednesday, because this is somehow cross-plattform to me.

    View Rialgar's journal. | View all entries by Rialgar

    Ratings

    #419Audio2.23
    #441Overall2.83
    #448Fun2.67
    #498Mood2.54
    #524Graphics2.54
    #595Innovation2.38
    #617Humor1.82
    #683Theme2.26
    #711Coolness47%

    Comments

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Nice use of WebGl, shall have a look at the sources!

    I did seem to end up just holding S and strafing left and right, but even some AAA titles thesedays seem to be similar! Nice work, well done.

    Fenmar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Wow, it runs really smooth, despite the number of bullets in the endgame. I also liked the effect of the changing environment and the "boss" enemies.

    What you could improve is the discoverability, at first I just went around for one or two minutes before I realised I can shoot with the mouse. I also didn't discover that I can rotate until I already completed the game XD

    Rialgar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    @DustyStylus: WebGL gets totaly easy with the brilliant Three.js library

    race122 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07am

    I enjoyed that game quite a lot. It was very fun. I liked how the level kept forming into a new one.

    Per says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    I was surprised when the level changed. It was a nice effect!

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:12pm

    Started off a little slow, but ramped up after a while. Like the skill tree implementation.

    boxerbomb says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    I like how its 3D. I think you probably should have made the ai a little more than home in on the player. But other than that good game

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    At first i thought it was an bad endless shooter, but then the level changed so well it became really good :D (don't worry about the audio, i know how hard it is!) good job !

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    There's a sh*t load of work done here, well done! I spent a while playing it, and didn't even notice the time go by! Cheers!

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    VerySimple! yet clever!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    I love that it uses WebGL, but the graphics are a bit too simplistic. After trying the game once, I saw the screenshot and realized there's a shopping menu in the game. That improved my impression of it a litte, but it's still not that interesting. I was surprised when the level changed the first time, but the gameplay is still a bit dull. The challenge is the limited view. Other than that you can just move in a circle with the mouse button pressed.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

    Nice game. I had fun playing it. It would have been nice to have more challenge though. I loved the terrain changes.

    ix says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:51am

    Didn't run for me in Chrome, but worked in Firefox. Though I couldn't aim while moving. Nice terrain!

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Chrome on OSX crashes with the "oh snap" error on the page. Safari's just a white space where the game should be.

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    cool. its very simple but i enjoyed it.

    quill18 says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    I love to see WebGL get more and more attention!

    Patacorow says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:28pm

    The level transition was really badass!!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]