December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

R. B. A.

by Sandcrawler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Arrow Keys to Move
1 to Upgrade Economy
2 to upgrade Defense
3 to upgrade Offense
Spacebar to shoot

How to Play:
Pick a difficulty, then upgrade your base by collecting resources first, then purchasing the upgrade.

The Economy Upgrade produces Red resource for the Offense and Defense upgrades to use.

The Offense upgrade fires at drones that come within range.

The Defense upgrade places the resources in a square around the base. (You can pick these up!)

The Creation was live Streamed On YouTube:
Day 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7L2EWBlWAa0

Day 2 Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vrX1e5g2xpk

Day 2 Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrHhlkupjZc

Day 3 Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weJULiCK3RQ

Day 3 Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDJ23floh7M


A Timelapse video will be created in the next few days.

Comments and feedback is appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Audio2.33
#587Innovation2.40
#641Overall2.44
#674Fun2.07
#719Graphics1.79
#752Theme1.73
#980Coolness30%

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Well, I won - it's a bit easy because the bullets can be fired from as far away as you like

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:32am

As robashton said, it's a bit easy because you can fire from out of the enemy base range.
Also I don't really see the Villainy theme in your game.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:11pm

I agree it can be a bit easy, but did you try the other difficulties? if you hit any key other than the spacebar you will go to a difficulty select screen and that will make the game a bit harder, the upgrade costs go up and the resources you need to shoot with will become rare.


I think the theme is there, the game is red vs blue, green and violet. Similar to World War II where it was United States, Russia, and Great Britain vs Nazi Germany. Its an abstract and simplified version of World War 2 played from the perspective of Germany.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:23am

Interesting title, but the color choices really annoyed me. Also, that theme tie-in sounds extremely arbitrary. What makes this like Germany, other than the fact that you're gathering resources?

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:48am

I wish there was a bit of an outline on the objects though, sometimes it was hard to see things on their own color. Fun game though. :)

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:52am

Its an abstraction of Germany and World War II, its not meant to be apparent. I was thinking more of how it was Germany vs the Allies. Three vs one (when you look at it really simplified, and remove japan from the mix, and the other allies) This comes through mostly in the win and lose messages, that include text about the Allies begin pulp, and other slapstick style phrases.

Another part of it is the robots, I didn't want to do anything apparent like humanoid soldier fighting it out, I wanted you to question if you were playing as the villain or not, and as a whole what is a villain, does a villain think of themselves as bad?

I think what would have helped would have been to make it more apparent that its 1 vs 3, and that the other three colors are working against you. To me this would imply that you had done something villainous to unify three things against you.

As for the contrast I agree a bit of an outline would help, I wanted things to blend in their own zone some, but its a little much on some of the colors.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Not sure about the theme, but the game itself plays well. Good sound effects, particles, and music. I didn't like the red on red, green on green, etc. It made it hard to see.

Per says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:13am

Nice game.
Gameplay is smooth.
Graphics is nice but could improve in terms of color use.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]