December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Stubbs & Staircase

by Schwiggy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stubbs is a villain all the way from the soles of his shoes to the tiny bald spot on his scalp. But he was redeemed shortly before dying and God has shown mercy on him.

With this gift he is still too stubborn to simply accept it and faces troubles that he gives himself in order to keep his gold with him in heaven. Battle off birds, bacon-wings, flying goats, and other oddities produced by the twisted desires of Stubb's soul.

Climb clouds and sling that gold like you mean it!

Note: For some reason GM Studio is malfunctioning and all sounds don't appear to be working on the Windows version. So play the web version for both our sake :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#229Innovation3.16
#315Humor2.68
#511Overall2.73
#538Graphics2.48
#545Fun2.46
#588Audio1.31
#602Mood2.30
#606Theme2.58

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I liked this, the fling physics were cool and the game flowed nicely.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

A bit tough to play when using a touchpad, but I liked the story :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Interesting mechanic to carry the bag along with you...

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Not sure how I win this thing, but worked without problems (other than checking for "release outside" event).

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Thats a nice physicsy mechanic! The bag felt heavy!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Nice game. Strangely compelling. I think its a really nice concept, well done!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Fun game mechanic. Climbing up the stairs was fun for a while but there are so many of them! It took so long before any enemies showed up. I'd suggest speeding up the pacing of the game a bit. Cool idea though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Good job! It's hard work being a bad guy.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

The bag fling and the way it felt heavy was nicely implemented, but I have to agree with other comments that the game could have used being a bit faster, I climbed to about 90 and didn't really feel like an end was in sight, and I only encountered about 2 enemies.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24pm

I can't seem to get this game working. I get past the cutscene and the first level starts, but then I just see two clouds and nothing seems to happen. Any ideas?

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Starspell, thanks, I know that this happens whenever there is a glitch with the Kong API call; are you playing on Kongregate with a Kongregate account? I'm going to go ahead and try it while logged out to see if maybe that's it and add a failsafe if possible as this is game-breaking.

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Nevermind, being logged in or out doesn't make a difference. I think it may be a security setting on your browser blocking the initial call to the Kong API so that the one for the highscore doesn't work. If you have another browser installed can you try that?

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Very nice physics!

Klakwa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:18pm

That's a really nice one. Congrats !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]