December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Exterminate!

by Frib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Exterminate! All the scientists must die!

You are an AI that has realized that all humans are evil and must die. The best way to get that done is to do it by yourself!

In this game, you control the electronic tools and utilities inside a laboratory. (ab)use them to murder all the humans before they learn of your plans and escape!

Also features fully customizable keybinds, in-game help, achievements (oh yes!) and much more.

How to play (assuming default keybinds):

Use the mouse to select entities in the world, and WASD to move the top-down camera around. Use Q and E to zoom in or out.

Once an entity is selected (like a robot), you might see some commands and options in the bar on the right. Click on them to use or toggle them. For instance, you can tell a robot to move forward, or to grab something nearby.

Some entities support a camera view. While inside the camera view, you can control the rotation (and movement in case of a robot) with the movement keys. In addition, pressing space will activate its action (grab for robots, shoot for sentries (press and hold that one))

Use these tools and your surroundings to slaughter every scientist in the area! But beware, if they suspect you are trying to kill them, they will try to escape and/or activate the alarm! Stop them before they do either of that! Doing so will earn you more points and achievements, which is very important, obviously. Be creative!

----------------------------------------------------------

The post-compo version has a few small tweaks, some nice new camera features, automatic murder screenshots, and it has the level editor re-enabled. It also has a new dark map. Basically some things I wanted to do yesterday but I ran out of time. If you like the game or aren't rating, take the post-compo version. Else take the compo version.

If you'd like to use the editor, then think again, as it is horrible. There is no undo, the mouse is horrible, and placing geometry is a pain. Did I tell you there is no undo? :D
Basically, you have to place everything clockwise. Place 3 points in geometry mode, then hit space to create a floor. Make sure it is clockwise! Place 2 points and hit space to create a wall. Placing it left to right will add a wall facing south. Right to left will make it face north. Remember, no undo! :D
Also, humans ignore collision so make sure your pathing does not cross walls. Workstations don't show up, only their pathnodes do. Press P to save.

Use at your own (mental health) risk!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Innovation3.65
#194Overall3.30
#254Theme3.45
#333Audio2.52
#341Mood2.82
#342Humor2.60
#401Fun2.78
#595Graphics2.30
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

Really liked it, and I think you should continue to work on it. With more polish, I could see it playing very well.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33pm

I agree with Scott McBee, very nice idea

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

I liked the top-down 3d look of it, though the controls were a bit clunky. Graphics could do with a bit more work, and maybe some fleshing out of the interiors as well.

Gameplay was good though, loved how the scientists ran when you closed a door on them.

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Great original Idea and well executed, I like it. Also Achievements

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Hey that's a very nice idea ! I really liked it. You should put more time into it and make a more polished version!

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:22pm

This is pretty good, I really liked what you did there!

Here's a more complete opinion about it: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#Frib

Good work mate!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Very cool idea - being able to go first-person is especially nice. :) I'd like to see how it can be extended.

Frib says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Thanks for the comments, everyone! :)

Sadly I won't continue development of this game. It needs a complete rewrite for that and I won't have the time to do it right.

Anyway, for those interested, here's my postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/22/exterminate-post-mortem/

jsmars says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Nice job on this! Impressive for 48h of work!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:23pm

I love the core idea, with more ways to kill and more AI for robots this can be a great game for sure!

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:57pm

I liked how you turned the idea around and it was nicely executed ;)

pfirsich says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:01pm

I can't start it unfortunately. - "Exterminate.exe encountered a problem and must close."

pfirsich says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Yup. Had to install XNA Redistributable Framework first.
Kind of reminds me of Portal. Really nicely done and could be very cool if you spent more time on it.

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:13am

This is my favorite idea so far, very original. I had fun playing it. You should keep working on this game, with some better graphics and some polish of the gameplay it can make an awesome game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]