December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DR. MADDOC Takes Over The World and Kills 3D Forever

by jsmars - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Become the Mad Scientist Dr.Maddoc. Take over the world and destroy 3D games forever! Enjoy this sneaking game!

First time I used Ogmo editor and made 2D lighting and shadows, so it was a fun challange!

Been very stressed up until the end! Will be coming out a jam version with everything a bit more polished soon! Should be better graphics, better AI, more maps and story!

Timelapse coming soon! Need a shower and some rest after this 35ish hours of coding

Cheers all! Please comment and rate! :D


### HOW TO PLAY ###
Use arrow keys to move around, space to go to next dialog, collect all chests on each level before going to the exit (marked by a ghost, usually back where you started)

There is a known bug where you miss a level at random, so if the story doesn't make sense, try another playthrough :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#66Mood3.52
#69Graphics3.94
#76Humor3.52
#115Overall3.50
#203Fun3.18
#210Audio2.91
#263Theme3.44
#430Innovation2.70

Comments

gabbsson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:49am

Sweet game! Cool lighting, graphics and fun story. Sure makes me want to uninstall all these crappy 3D games.. ALL HAIL NES!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:16pm

Really nice mood to this, I liked the graphics and the idea behind it. I got stuck quite early on though, a walkthough would be cool. Had fun finding all the references. Also +1 filmgrain point. Games need more filmgrain.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:25pm

I like it. Although the light seems to glitch at a few occasions, especially lights other than the player's (e.g. shadows in the very first room or lights in other rooms). Some guards seem to just stop with some beeping alert sound, but nothing happens?

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:55pm

If you get caught in light too long, you get caught, sadly there the AI stops slightly to early sometimes which makes it easy to avoid them. Will be working on a version with more challanging AI :)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Great job on the graphics. Would've been nice if the dialogues moved a bit quicker.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

nice, 3d lights in 2d game

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Press space or enter or esc to go to next dialog :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Huge fan of the style ! Interesting story, and good light effect !

wupto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

I really like the lighting. Very nice game :)

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58am

Very funny!!! The stealth gameplay is great and the lights are very impressive, I wish L4D2 could have lights like that xD

frogmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05am

Neat! I'm waiting for Valve to rip this lights off in L4D3 :) Moar games like this and the evil plan of destroying 3d will succeed!

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:42am

Fun game and awesome naration! Really enjoyed this one!

Here's a little review about it: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#jsmars
Want me to link your username somewhere?

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Thanks for all the positive feedback! :) Working on a more polished version with a few more maps and bug fixes :)

$wzl thanks! sure send the link to this page :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Plenty of mood here. It's more like a short story than a game. That's both a strength and a weakness.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27pm

This made my day. Couldn't stop laughing. Love how everything has a (mostly funny) description. Made me explore everything. I also enjoyed the graphics a lot. I made a somewhat similar game in the sense of sneaking around. Well done!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Funny. I like the art style.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Nice story and lighting effects!

Fenmar says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Very nice visuals. I also liked the background story and the descriptions very much. I didn't get, why ghosts are guarding the exits, though :)

Slushy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52am

really good effort , loved it

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:43am

One of my favourite entries so far, nice job. But please make the pickup sound (coin) a bit softer or at least lower the treble.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:26am

I love this game. The first bit is a masterpiece. The rest is awesome. The bank robbery scene felt like you were parodying other games. Amazing work. :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:19am

Wow, that's a lot of visually impressive asset work for 48 hours. Fantastic job.

krutech says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Really nice!
Love the lights and shadows.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]