December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Apocolypse Virus

by Tom Leonardsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story: You control a computer virus and you have to kill all defenses to launch the nukes.

Arrow keys to move and z to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#545Humor2.00
#588Theme2.65
#730Mood1.60
#759Graphics1.38
#764Fun1.53
#770Innovation1.29
#775Overall1.29
#1123Coolness14%

Comments

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28am

I seem to be unable to lose, even if I actually try to ram things I still win just by holding fire D=

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Yeah, I destroyed the world! It's really not possible to lose though, I just stayed in fire line the whole time. It would be nice if it would be a little longer, but I guess that's a hard thing to ask for in only 48 hours!

Tips for next time:
- Check if the player can lose
- Maybe add a little bit of sound and music?

VDZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

I don't want to be an asshole, but I'm afraid I just can't really say anything positive about this game.

The game starts without any explanation whatsoever, leaving you confused about what to do. The gameplay is extremely simplistic. There is no difficulty; you can just hold Z after starting and win automatically. The graphics are ugly and unclear - you don't know who you are, you don't know what that thing on the side of the screen is, you don't know what those things flying past you are, you have no idea how much life you have left (I assume the bar at the top is for that, but it's too small and hidden to read during gameplay). There's no music or sound (not even a simple pew-pew-pew shooting sound), which is often essential feedback on sidescrolling shooters and would be very useful in this game. The victory screen is sudden, ugly, underwhelming and doesn't really give the player a victorious feeling.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

My coworkers were not impressed, until I figured out how to shoot. Then they were sorry very VERY quickly.

It was pretty good for only 48 hours, although it was pretty easy when I realized I could just hold Z to win.

Personally, I think the health bar should be reversed. At first it looked like some sort of progress bar every time I hit a microchip.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36am

Had some trouble understanding my role in the game. Graphics are good and fit the theme. Didn't feel totally satisfied when I killed the bit machine though.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46am

I can't start the game on Win 7 64-bit. :/

kernel panic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14pm

This game has no challenge aspect. There also needs to be more detail in the game. I'm not even sure what kind of environment the player's in.

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12pm

I'm going to quote VDZ because I really think this guy got it right:

"I don't want to be an asshole, but I'm afraid I just can't really say anything positive about this game.

The game starts without any explanation whatsoever, leaving you confused about what to do. The gameplay is extremely simplistic. There is no difficulty; you can just hold Z after starting and win automatically. The graphics are ugly and unclear - you don't know who you are, you don't know what that thing on the side of the screen is, you don't know what those things flying past you are, you have no idea how much life you have left (I assume the bar at the top is for that, but it's too small and hidden to read during gameplay). There's no music or sound (not even a simple pew-pew-pew shooting sound), which is often essential feedback on sidescrolling shooters and would be very useful in this game. The victory screen is sudden, ugly, underwhelming and doesn't really give the player a victorious feeling."


I'm sorry dude, but the game is too... I don't know, not enough in any aspect. I have no idea what making a game alone in 48 hours alone is like, but nothing in this game seems right or good.

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Uh, that was over quite quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]