December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bombit Bob

by triplefox - Jam Entry

Poor Bob. Someone lit his fuse, and now he's going to blow up. He can collect clocks to ward off his impending doom, but since he's going to go, he might as well go out with a bang!

Flash. Uses my Triad framework - including a MIDI softsynth and Stage3D (available at https://github.com/triplefox/triad ). May not run well on Grandma's rig(because the synth is a CPU hog)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Overall(Jam)3.05
#154Audio(Jam)2.86
#157Fun(Jam)2.86
#171Innovation(Jam)2.81
#174Humor(Jam)2.53
#179Mood(Jam)2.76
#190Graphics(Jam)3.05
#307Theme(Jam)2.10
#898Coolness36%

Comments

Crynix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

I really enjoyed it. It was very fun to play, although it got very laggy after a while, which caused the timer to slow down and made the game much longer than it should have.

The graphics cube and very well made.

Although you are technically a villain, I really wish there was some sort of "good guy" to really illuminate the bad that you're causing.

Overall, very well done.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

It's like a weird crossover between Bomberman and Notch's Minicraft. Nice job.

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Fun! I liked blowing up everything, maybe if there were more concrete things to blow up, like buildings or people? Just so that spiteful destruction feels even more worth it :).

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

I really liked the visual style and the engine work on this one!

Little things: I thought this was better with WASD. I noticed a little thing where when you press a movement key while setting keys the camera actually moves. I like you left the ending "bomb glitch" in. The music seemed to have a *crazy* inconsistent BPM, like not referring to the speedup effect it just had a really wavery metronome on my machine… which might have been sorta interesting with a different song but with "The Saints Go Marching In" didn't have really any particular impact. I liked how subtle the thing was where Bob's movement gets faster and faster as you keep playing. I found it amusingly theme-fitting that your only metric of "score" was not how long you stayed alive, but how much you destroyed. I like that this is one of those games which, in concept at least, has a maximum possible score.

The main issue I had with this was it didn't feel like it had a lot of purpose. I feel like you could make something very cool about, you can destroy the landscape around you, and you must use this ability to collect clocks which barely extend your life. But this game didn't seem to do much with it beyond implementing the basic mechanics. My first playthrough was kind of aimless. Most of the way through the first playthrough I realized that the bomb-laying is in fact infinite and can be done infinitely fast and there is no reason to be worried about hurting either yourself or a clock by bombing "too much". I thus did another playthrough in which all i did was charge through the landscape, furiously clicking EVERYWHERE constantly. This was actually pretty fun, in a stupid way! :D However it hurt my hand, and also an interesting thing happened where the more bombs I laid, the slower and slower the game went. Like somehow there was a compounding speed penalty that got worse the more bombs had been laid since I started the game. I finally wound up with a score of 185980, a few seconds from death, and it was going like… ten seconds between frames. (The music stayed at its same tempo the entire time, although I think as stuff slowed down it began dropping notes).

Anyway, as an engine demo this is great. I would be interested to see a post-LD version that either imposes a bit more thought on the process of bombing/navigating, or just overall makes a more complex game with this art and mechanics concept. And maybe a different MIDI :)

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:42pm

The lag made it hard to play after a while.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:52pm

I liked it! Especially cool how the music gets faster.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Nice use of software synth.
It worked nice on my really cheap laptop.
I love bomberman mechanics.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:16am

Nice game, simple but very entertaining.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:29am

I don't know how I managed to play a game about having 1 minute left to live, but damnit I managed it.

I can't believe how compelling it was to fight to prolong my existence as much as possible in the complete knowledge that I was completely doomed.

It felt like a bit of an allegory for the human condition by the end.

And I heard so many midi instruments. Got 337340 points eventually. Great game.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:57am

Fun mechanic. Develop it further and add some more things for the player to blow up (enemies or other blockers), etc.

Alink says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:58am

The time thing gives a lot of fun stress. Nice touch with the music speed.

raincole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:37am

Fairly fun. Surprisingly you built your own game engine.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Nice little game ! The world is pretty huge. The chronometter works well.. i had fun. Congrats !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]