December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Train Villain

by zachstronaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's Pipe Dream but with train tracks and goats. You are the villain, so you want to hit all the goats before crashing the train.

It is a playable prototype, but I did not allocate enough time this weekend. I would have liked to:

-animate the train sprite properly
-add sounds
-have a "win" condition to advance to next level (and increase difficulty)

Thanks for checking it out! Leave a comment, and I'll play your entry if I can on my Mac!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#382Humor2.47
#415Fun2.75
#450Theme3.00
#513Graphics2.56
#536Overall2.69
#561Innovation2.44
#678Mood2.07
#990Coolness28%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:19am

Nice gameplay, it work very well, i just want more levels. I also like the relaxing music, even if you do devil's work.

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Thanks NuSan! My game doesn't have music though, so I wonder what you were hearing? DUN DUN DUNNNNNNN! heh

quantumryan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

Ha, I spent a few minutes trying to figure out why I wasn't hearing any music.

Fun little game. Hectic, furious frustration! I wish there was a win condition!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04am

For a pipes-type game it was fun. As someone who normally plays games with the sound turned low so I can listen to podcasts/audiobooks/music I have to agree with NuSan about the music.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Cool and impressive gameplay.
Good job!

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Good start! Thanks for getting out here and making something. The graphics look nice for a prototype.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Played it a couple of times trying to trap the train until I realized it's not possible :) Fun game and well made. Especially I dig the graphics and the idea of a having a train to run over something.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Nice. A fun music could setup an good mood.

laaph says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Very cute, I like the style, I wish you had made the details of "new game" and "next level" after you do a run.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]