Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The World is Mine! - matthias_zarzecki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take over the world is this World-Domination-Simulator!

Features!
- The G.O.A.T.
- Evil Bases!
- Goon-Management!
- A Blimp! (it's evil)
- Laser Death Rays!
- Kongregate-Highscore-integration
- A kick-ass evil march I composed in less than an hour


You control the game with the mouse. Mute the sound with M. The rest is self-explanatory. (if not: recruit Goons. Take over cities. Get Cash. Expand. Make the world YOURS)

The game ends if you destroy the world, or take it over.

Also available for your convenience: A windows-standalone, Mac- and Linux-Files (I hope they work)

Enjoy!

-Matthias

//Music!
I uploaded the soundtrack. Now you can hear it whenever you want! (if that is your thing :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26mkyr4sFRE&feature=youtu.be

//Post-Mortem
I wrote down some thoughts how this could've been so much better
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/01/01/thoughts-on-the-world-is-mine/

View matthias_zarzecki's journal. | View all entries by matthias_zarzecki

Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Theme3.94
#181Overall3.33
#192Humor3.05
#202Audio2.93
#236Mood3.03
#238Innovation3.14
#247Fun3.08
#309Graphics3.07

Comments

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58am

Love it. +1 for getting a song stuck in my head with the title.

Mieville says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32am

Pretty fun, my armies have conquered the world!

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Very efficient concept, loved the detail of the moon

Zillix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Great work! I loved that all the goons had individual names. Nice touch.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

Certainly captured that feeling of being a villain - and was quite funny in some ways too! - but could have done with some antagonists of some sort.

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39am

The game idea is really good, with good menu options well thought for the gameplay. But then when one plays the game seams too much easy. There could have been the oportunity to lose by not managing well the resources at the beginning, but one must do it really badly for doing so. The music is really nice, addictive even, doing the experience pleasant :D

metadept says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40am

Absolutely fantastic. Played through the whole thing. It's too easy, and there are a few graphical issues (some city labels were inside the continents for me), but for a compo game this is golden.

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40am

Liked the idea; UI was a bit tricky, and it took a minute to work out what I was supposed to do and how you're supposed to win (why did new cities appearing halfway through?) but basically fun and definitely fits the theme.

Cosine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Not 100% what I was doing while playing. Gameplay was very simple (buy 3 goons, take over city, repeat) and fairly boring, there was no way to "lose." Game fit the theme. Graphics were simple, yet effective (UI could've used some touch-ups). Music was a good effort, although the dun dun-dun-dun-dun of the piano began to get annoying after a while. I found the best part of the game to be the humor and mood, because I really did feel a bit like a deranged maniac trying to take over the world.

Cosine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

Oh, forgot to add: Found a bug where city names would draw inside the planet. http://puu.sh/1BPom

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

How is the score figured?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

Yeah, the text sometimes appearing in mountains is irritating. It took a lot of time trying to get it to work.

When I move the text further away the screen became cluttered with fyling texts, which was more irritating :P

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

I like the graphics, and the texts are very cool! Especially the named goons are a nice touch :)

The gameplay definitly has potential, but right now there is little to no challenge. Is there anything fighting back? (The slow resistence of the cities is easily overcome by sending goons quickly.)

I'm also quite unsure how the points are calculated.

Oh, and I like the music!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

Pretty cool. I need an instruction manual, though.

Always fun making globes ;)

feltip says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03am

This is so sweet :D

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07am

I can't get that song out of my head! Nice concept and easy to play, so perfect fit for me :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Oh my god - the price of goons these day. The prices are sky rocketing! ;)

Lots of fun details in this game :)

Fun game!

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Really nice idea with cool execution. The UI could've been a bit better, but all those upgrade descriptions gave me a good laugh :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Good fun! I like a game that I can pick up easily and get a good sense of it quickly.

Polar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Liked it, but a bit too easy - I left it for a while, bought my way to the Lunar Death Ray, and won.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Nice one! A lot of nice touches in there.
Too bad it's way too easy. I would have loved a bit more strategy, like attacking the cities in a correct order to keep the cash flowing, because right now, the most efficient strategy is to take a 5 minutes break and come back ^^
I think the GUI buttons could be improved too, maybe with symbolic icons instead of text.

Anyway, it's a great work. They should make a 007 movie about it! ;)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Technically pretty cool, but the goons must be incredibly powerful!

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Yes the soundtrack is good. Maybe you could add some opposite force to give the player more challenge. I felt evil.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Congratulations on a great soundtrack and a fun game!

steamgirl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Really liked this game! Great premise, full of humour, nice touches. I'm amazed you managed to get all this done in such a short amount of time. It would be interesting to find out more about what you had planned for this game as there isn't much challenge to it (yet). Will you be making this into a full game at some point?

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18am

Absolutely brilliant! Really, really well done for making this in the competition time! Please make a bigger version with more levels/worlds - I've taken over the one world already and want to send my Blimp to take over some more! :D

MagmaLemur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

I really like the concept of taking over the world. It's a fun game with a good sense of humor. Good job!

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

Pretty neat to play a spherical domination game like this, but I quite like the concept. The one the game could use would be more challenge and a bit more obvious as to what effect you are having on the world. Other than that, good job!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01am

Told you so! Heh fun!

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03am

Cute! The theme is simple but nice!

Not really much of a challenge, though.

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05am

Fairly enjoyable, although the only challenge was waiting for money to build up.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18am

Lovely game, nicely rendered. There were minor z problems with things like helicopters but it was perfectly forgivable.

(I would have liked left-mouse-button to pan and right-button on something to bring up a context menu, for example.)

ratking says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25am

Generally I miss a little bit of quality in the execution, though. For example there is no reason why Labels and Buttons look alike (or why the buttons don't have a "hover" state). The houses don't even have a rooftop but are textured with the same window texture at the top.

But overall it's a very relaxing game and I played it through. =)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:48am

Indeed, the models could look a lot better. Should've set more time aside, this is more of a 10min-job.

har_g says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

feel like in mine but outside the base.

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51pm

Great game not too much waiting around and +1 for the death ray

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24pm

nice audio and gameplay. Good writing too!

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Am I the only one who got stuck at the title screen? How do I get past it? I tried clicking and dragging and hitting various keys. Nothing seems to happen, it just plays the song and shows me a spinning world.

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46pm

I didn't even get a chance to go to space with my rocket pad =/ Was really fun though.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

really fun!
told you so! xD

KrisKinD says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Niiiice stuff

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02am

The music seemed kind of upbeat, as if it was for a game about opening restaurants in cities, instead of conquering them.

amassingham says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02am

Good game, I feel the UI needs a bit of improvement though. Made me think of the World Domination map from Evil Genius!

Komradus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47am

Really cool game, CIA HQ was a bit too easy to capture :P

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33am

That music. That awesome, awesome music.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:24pm

Nice little game, clean interface! Agree with the comment that the goons must be pretty powerful! :D

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Very nice, but as for me too easy.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Nice one! This would make an awesome multiplayer.

CMaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Nice work.
Be even better if there were ways for things to go wrong though.

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:44pm

I FINALLY FIGURED OUT HOW TO PLAY.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

This is fun.

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:47am

Great job! Simple, fun, and I felt compelled to take over the world :D Could have been more challenging but for a 48 hour project, you did well! I hope you keep building on this!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:11am

Really cool. Liked the music. Keep working on this and expand it!

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:01am

I just can't stop laughing when I see the abbreviation of GOAT, very interesting entry.

Zed says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:02pm

I always KNEW piracy was evil, and funded global terrorist organisations! I'm not just saying this to echo what you said, but this is a very 'you' game. I love your simple 3D. I would pay actual real cash money for an entire game world built in it.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:32pm

I like how 2 to 3 of my goons can take over a city of millions instantly. Funny lines, good effort.

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Even though it was a bit on the easy side, I quite enjoyed it.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Loved the Deathrigible!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:16am

Good fun, but rather unbalanced in the player's favour. Could do with a tickdown on conquered cities so you have to keep sending henchmen in to hold them - a juggling act that would get harder as you conquer more... also the menus were a bit hard to navigate. But I did enjoy it. Post-compo version please!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:04am

Really fun, good job.

eraldo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:57am

Nice.
Somtimes it said.. the world is mine.. with only one city owned. ?
Controls are a bit strange for turning the world. (click-drag click)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:05am

2 ez

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:22am

very good, especially the music

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:45am

Pretty awesome game.

Told you so.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:28am

lovely audio, fun gameplay! Top marks

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Good: Loved the details of the moon
Improve: Perhaps more varied sound, and gameplay that's a bit easier to get into. =)

rinaka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:22pm

Good concept and user interface. Graphics are nice and the procedural details (goon names, cities) are cool. As others pointed out, it would be great to see this game continue to evolve to include more opposition.

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:46am

Really cool idea and i liked that i had so many options for upgrades and everything XD

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:03am

Very good !

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Rotating the world was hard on a Mac, use keyboard keys next time. Otherwise, good game!

kill0u says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Nice one. Took me some time to realise I could "move" with right click.. :facepalm:

But I couldn't stop until the world was mine :evil:

Kuulog says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Cool game. I really liked the ending.

Niavlys says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:23am

That's very fun and somehow addictive, although not very challenging :) I like it!

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Nice game and audio, it wasn't self-explanatory for me, you should write a little instructions here :). nice job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Amazing!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Good start, but needs more challenge. I chose "invade" first and had no goons, so thought it was broken. Kept poking around, though, and eventually conquered the world.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:56pm

World dominated! I loved the game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:22am

Haha, nice little touches with the button text. Cute.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:52am

Excellent work for a 48h entry !! I enjoyed build evil stuff and watch their presence in the world. A very nice concept and well realized :)

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Nice gameplay, i can't finish it because de poor english, but very good game made in 48 hours ^_^

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:49pm

very good game remind me of Rise Of Nations hhhhhh

Xavier says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Can be a good game (everyone here can't be wrong) but I'm stuck with the game play (perhaps I'm too impatient)

ghotifrye says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:40am

Nice graphics, nice audio. It tends to scale a bit too quickly and I'm not certain there's anyway to lose, but those are my only complaints. Regardless, a fun concept. Well done!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:54am

Enjoyed this! The game was a bit hard to follow with the Interface though.

TheMelon says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:17am

Cool world domination(we have a very simple concept) idea. I like that everything is simplified. Some more depth and feedback would be cool. Otherwise nice job.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Haha, fun game. Could be harder, but even as it is, it's super fun to take over the world. Hired goons are expensive these days! Also the money/income rolls round when you play the game again. I'm sure you knew that and I have to say I couldn't complain, it was quite satisfying to beat the game two more times just to see my income go skyrocketing :P Some great humour in this game. Generally a great idea which would make an awesomely addictive game if it were more strategic.

Thanks for commenting on our game too, I left you some instructions on the controls and I hope you'll have another go!

Rob

BrothersT says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Also congrats on rating so many games! Must've taken ages!

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:42pm

What a great game! And what a great tune!! +1k :-)

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Very nice. Few text bugs and the missile doesn't actually cost anything but really cool idea and nicely implemented.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:09am

ZAP

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:01am

Very good start! It does become a bit easy - especially with missiles!

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Nice game! At first I was expecting troop movement on the world, did not quite understand the goon and invade system.
Also, the percentage at each city was confusing: What did it tell me? As soon as I could launch missiles for 1000$ the game was very easy: Launch & invade -> got city. Very villainous game :)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Cute, short. I can definitely see a post-compo version with a few actual mechanics in there. Nice.

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Would have been nice if there was some kind of threat against the player. I just had to be patient and wait for my money to pile up so i can buy some new goons.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:05am

Pretty fun! although playing again seems a bit broken (especially once you have the deadly moon ray). You seem to start with the resources and things you had your previous run.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Wish there was more to it than just waiting for cash to pour in, some gameplay and challenge wouldn't hurt. Wish you could do a post-LD on it...

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:05am

A fun little game but, as others have said, there is no opposition. No resistance from the peoples and cities of the Earth :O

The balancing of the goons felt about right. At first it was more cost effective to buy them in bulk before invading a bunch of cities but after taking over enough cities it became much more efficient to rain down missiles on them. Pretty cool!

The moon doom laser was awesome! I definitely felt like I'd conquered the world at that point :)

Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:25pm

ZAPPP

Destroying IS Conquering. It's true. I looked it up.

Nice game, but could have used a bit more challenge, the game is very easy because there isn't anything to really stop you.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:05pm

good job, but i think it needs some polishing:
1. you dont need to buy anything more than goons
2. nothing is trying to prevent you from taking over the cities

but overall i like it, however it reminds me game called UFO :)

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Yeah, I really miss the missing "Opposition".

First draft had "Agents", which would be dispatched from headquarters against you to stop your progress. Then it turned out that getting the system working as it was was diffiult enough :P

impulse9 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice game. A bit too easy, somehow. :)

Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Not a bad entry. I played this after seeing your post mortem, and while you're right about the graphics and the strategy, it still works as a fun little game. The city names are charming, and it's got a theme song that's pleasant yet not too infectious.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Great work! It is just a matter of time till you win but I enjoyed the gradual progression, nice touch seeing your little vehicles appear around the globe.

Datw says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:17am

I liked, but the game ended abruptly for me and when I restarted I already had lots of cash but no cities. Really strange :(

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nicely executed concept. I love the names of the cities, those definitely add to the humor! I wasn't quite sure what some of the stuff I bought from expansion/black market do. The game is too easy though, there seem to be no threat or impacting consequences.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:07am

Bit too easy to take everything over, but good idea.

DalsGames says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Liked it! However it was not at all challenging!

dalbinblue says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Pretty cool game, but without an antagonist element the game is just a waiting game. As an odd glitch as well, at one point I clicked the invade city button and the game kinda half reset. All the cities reset to an uninvaded status, the board was filled with my expansion elements, I still had all my money, income, and goons, but everything in the black market and expand menus were back, so I'm not sure what happened.

jujule says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:53am

The World is Mine !
Is there a way to lose, though ?
Anyways, great effort. Good fun !

angrygeometry says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:55pm

somehow forgot to rate this one. played it some time ago and really liked it. played it again just now and still enjoyed it.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Really impressive for 48 hours. I was totally engaged from start to finish (something about seeing cash rack up exponentially :). My only comment would be that the black market and expansion screens clash with the text on the world map - I think they need an overlay background of some kind for contrast.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Pretty fun, quite easy but really efficient gameplay mechanism, you're hanged on almost immediately...
Congrats !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]