December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Otaku Night Out

by epaik - Jam Entry

Artist - Dan
Coders - Kyle + Eugene

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Jlebow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04am

Looks great.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16am

Game mysteriously ends after "Give me three boxes of the good stuff."
I have no idea why an Otaku guy is a villain, so minus serious points there.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58am

Cool sprites. I like the visual style. How are you a villain? I think I beat it, but I'm not sure. Love the art though, thanks for sharing!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

The game froze when I killed the thugs. On the far right end of the imaginary gameplay-art slider, not really relevant to the theme either.

Also, there is a streetlight in my room, and its reasons for being there are likely to eat my sleep for the following days.

Also, NIPPONRAMEN

Gungnir says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:30am

Is it supposed to stop after you kill the thugs?
I like the art style but I would have liked it if that was applied to a more solid game.
I was actually hoping this was an adventure game, style seems like a perfect fit.

toranoko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Hey this is Keo the artist on the project.

Just wanted to say a few things, the playable parts of the game, were crunched in the last hour so a lot of ideas/features/content didn't make it in the submission. We seem to have this trouble, I should probably be working on paper the level design and story during breaks for ld, so when we're crunching we have something to work from and everyones on the same page.
Concepts/story/design are not my strong suit but hopefully I'll get better at this.

I'm working on a clearer version now to submit for a final due tomorrow, that hopefully addresses the holes in the story and how it relates to the theme. It in no way will be the final version if we decide to work on it, but yea.

@gungnir I also see this working more along the lines of a crpg (torment/baldurs gate isometric topdown) adventure game, I think the artwork was definitely influenced by Earthbound/mother series, and would like to take the project in that weird but oddly humorous and relatable direction. I do like the brawler mechanics, if they were fleshed out more and would like it so that there's more interaction with the environment I think that could make for a really cool game.

Eugene and Kyle kicked ass all weekend, I don't know if my head was entirely in the game :< But I see a lot of potential in this.

-Keo

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43pm

We all did a good job, the problem we had was building the engine from scratch during the jam. Go figure...

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:59am

Love the art!

Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:23pm

The art is awesome.

saguaro says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Really like the art style, very clean.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]