December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The other side

by vrld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Step in the shoes of the bad guys in your favorite game classics.

Invade Earth!

Kill the Pac Man!

Destroy the Jumper!


Linux users: You need LOVE 0.8 to run this game. Get it at http://love2d.org


NOTE with spoilers: There has be some confusion about winning and losing the game. You are not the hero of the games. In fact, you are not even player of the game (corrolary: you are not the one that inserts a coin to continue). You are there to amuse the player and the player is amused when he wins.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#62Theme3.94
#69Graphics3.94
#89Mood3.40
#99Overall3.54
#138Innovation3.40
#181Audio2.98
#304Fun2.96
#361Humor2.54

Comments

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

super slick.

metadept says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

Nice entry! I considered a few ideas of this sort (role-reversal in classic games), but you did lots of them! And a pretty well-polished execution, at that. It did take me a few tries in space invaders to realize that I was supposed to let the player win, though. Heh.

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

I totally agree with metadept. Best entry until now! congrats :))

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

MaxOSX download link is ineffectual... :(
looks great though
wish I could play it

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

Loved the visual style. I did end up getting an error on space invaders, though.

Graf_Grun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

It was pretty glitchy for me:
I won Pacman by not killing the Pacman...
The controls were stuck in Space Invaders: no l/r and only one invader would shoot
The Jumper worked though.

64 bit windows...

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04am

Wow it seems that we used similar ideas... but I have to reluctantly admit the truth your game is much more mature than mine.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06am

Very polished presentation.

Pacman froze on me at one point.

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06am

Thanks for the nice reviews!

SelectricSimian: Is the .app corrupted or can't you download the file? I can't test it because I don't have a mac :/

Scott McBee: Do you recall what the error said?

Graf_Grun: Not to spoiler you, but that's the point: You (or rather the computer) can only win PacMan if you don't kill him. And you have to follow the SpaceInvader pattern: Left until you reach the end, down one row, right until you reach the end, down one row, ... ;)

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08am

Hume: Yeah, he does that from time to time. I really have no clue why though. But then again, it's easier to kill a paralyzed Pac Man...

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02am

Three games for one. Fantastic deal. All thee well executed and I managed to invade the planet on the very first try :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Really good entry, dude. I like visuals and game idea =)

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Ha, I was so happy about my reverse pacman... not only you did it, you also did two other reversed games, and with a gorgeous style to boot! :-) Awesome!

I loved your art style, and the controls were very slick. Everything fits nicely together. Also, what a gorgeous font!

That said, I did not have a lot of fun. I don't think the "you have to let the player win" idea really worked for me :-/ But great work on the visuals and polish!

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Whose team are those ghosts on anyways? Awesome entry!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37am

Very counter intuitive to have to act as the enemy and let the player win each round. Wasn't really fun that way. Making the player fall in Canabalt would be more fun or killing the PacMan, for example. Make the player the enemy and try to make them lose. Good visuals but the art is all from other games, so :) Should have maybe cloned the games yet used your own art.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38am

Very slick and good execution though. Presentation +++

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:16am

Pretty polished. Nice work!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Nice games and very... slick... shaders. Wasn't able to win the canabalt game while holding down the arrow key... at some point there always comes a building which is to high. Do I make something wrong? ^^

kddekadenz says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:47pm

I didn't like that you needed to loose as villain to win :P
I really liked your version of canabalt, but the others.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Not glitchy for me, and a good time :D

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:22pm

The ways you have to complete levels are not-obvious, so they give more challenge! The game is extremely polished,too. High score for this entry! :)

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:27pm

So good! Flawless execution of an idea, using three well-known games so that no clumsy stage-setting is required. Very well done.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:31pm

The games looks really good and the controls are awesome. But i can't figure out how to play? All my aliens in space invaders die and i win, i kill pac-man and i lose? Amazing that you managed to finish 3 games but i still couldn't get past pac-man, which probably is mostly my fault. Great job!

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I like the idea and art, but it was glitchy :(

Volute says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Great take on the theme !

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:10am

Great entry. Solid use of recognized games and patterns.

I personally appreciate the fact that you have to "lose" to "win". I believe that it introduces the (possibly uncomfortable) notion that as the villain, this game is not about themselves. These games are about the hero saving the day, and as the antagonist, you're not a part of that victory parade, even when your own actions may have allowed that triumph to occur.

hypp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Nice one!

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:59am

very polished 3-game in one package and do it in Love :D well done!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:11pm

This was fantastic. Imagine how long it would have taken one person in 1980 to make one game... And we can now make 3 in 2 days, it's like throwing it in their faces! I've seen the reverse pacman implemented again in this LD, but I think I prefer your version of cycling through the ghosts. Top marks!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Very nice. I didn't find it particularly fun, but the theme is pretty sweet. I particularly liked the post-processing effects, although there were quite a few visual artefacts and glitches from them.

numpad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:26am

Great Idea! Awesome done! Love the shader-effects! For me the best entry (until now)! But I think the canabalt game is a bit simple. Actually you just need to hold arrow-down.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:56am

That's an incredible game :) the only thing was weird that you are villain but do nice stuff to win :D hehehe :D

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:19am

Pretty cool style, but I think it's to easy to win

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Might be some sort of bug. I'd defeat the protagonist once, the game-over screen would show up, count down about 4 seconds, then the game would restart. After I defeated the protagonist again, same thing would happen except it would only count down 1 second before it replayed. It did this infinitely. Shame because the games were quite neat. Idea wasn't very original though.

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Why? Why do I have to let the player win? It's not fun at all! In space invaders you can win by doing nothing!
The game crashed in space invaders when... I think when I touched the player with an alien, or reached the bottom...

ilo says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:50pm

I agree with StoneMonkeyStudios - the idea that the villain's role is to let the player win is very clever!

TheSheep says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:19am

Very nice, but very random -- maybe it was the goal, but I didn't feel in control at all. Also, pacman is unwinnable because it leaves the last pellet and stops.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:33pm

A double reversal! I'm bad but my role ultimately is to lose. Didn't get that in the beginning. Brilliant idea to take 3 well known simple games and implement them just far enough and in reverse. Visual style is nice even if I feel people cheat when they add Instagram filters to everything :) Well done, only missing an "all clear" screen when I (un)master all three games. Very nice.

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:39am

This game looks great! I love the effects. Going to peek around in your sourcecode :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]