Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Warden: Rise of the Goatman - Blodyavenger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Goatman, young Dungeon Warden. Your task is to build a dungeon complex and fill those with various deadly creatures.

Heroes will try to save the kingdom from your evil plans. This is your test to become a Warden. Do you have what it takes to lead the hope out from people hearts?

Features:
- 5 different dungoes to build
- populate dungeons with various creatures
- watch heroes trying to reach your main dungeon and kill you
- 3 tiers of wizard and knights (heroes)
- pixelated graphics
- 8 bit sound effects

This is not Tower defense...
This is not RTS...
This is not Management game...
..
This is DUNGEON WARDEN: Rise of the Goatman!

------------------------------------------------------
There is also Post LD (more balanced gameplay with some graphic additions) version to download but if you are here to vote this game, download original version and play that first.

View Blodyavenger's journal. | View all entries by Blodyavenger

Ratings

Coolness62%
#14Theme4.28
#36Fun3.72
#36Overall3.81
#41Graphics4.12
#103Innovation3.55
#112Mood3.32
#146Humor3.19
#300Audio2.60

Comments

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:05pm

This game is awesome. I like the TD-Likeness and the strategical things that come with it. Sweet graphics as well :)

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Love it! :D

wupto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

I really like the "shaking" :) Also nice graphics. Amazing game!

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11am

Thanks everyone ^^

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:08am

Awesome game, cool pixel arts.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:23am

Whoa, that's fantastic. Highly polished game with nice pixel art. Well done.

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Fantastic! I can see this becoming a full game :)

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Sweet Game. Just barely eked out a victory. Two small notes to really improve the game, one have some sort of notification when a dungeon is no longer defended, and for a little bit of extra challenge, after the last wave timeout hits the end, let the remaining heroes finish their trek through the level. I probably would have lost if I had to deal with the remaining heroes on the screen.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Interesting base of structures and units to play with, but more balancing is needed to make it more difficult (a den + imp + re-buying spiders sufficed to win the game).

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Wow awesome art! Had a lot of fun playing this :) Some background music would've been nice, though

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44pm

This was really cool. Absolutely love the GUI.

It could be a bit more balanced. I found it hard to save up money so I ended up just repeatedly buying monsters, but it was enough to win. I never got a really amazing dungeon. If it was balanced so it was easier to get money but much harder to keep your temples I think I might've enjoyed it more.

But, regardless, really nice art, really cool game. Well done.

Oh, I also nearly forgot: this is the first game this LD48 that I've actually laughed at (when the soldier shouted LEROOOY). Nice one.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49am

Love it. I played it twice. Would happily play more if it was polished into a full game.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:58am

Thanks everyone for your positive comments and contructive critics!

@dalbinblue: Dungeon notification would be nice addition indeed like flag notifying the player there are creatures inside. About the victory - I remembered that I forgot to add victory condition 20 minutes before the deadline so I've thrown this in quickly. Game should end when all heroes die (there is also a hero boss comming after the victory screen) but I'll release that in next days as a patch.

@ix: I agree! Game needs a lot of balancing which will be done in the next patch. Thanks for input.

@Alex: Yeah, I simply had to add this LEEEROY thing :) Others said that they were waiting for "Jenkins" as well but I skipped that part. I'm glad it maked you laughed ^^

Thanks again! (I forgot to remove special command - if you press F1 while playing, hero boss will spawn on the mouse cursor position)

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:11pm

A bit easy, won with only 2 dungeons, kept placing imps in ^^

But I love it! :D Really nice art, really cool game. Well done.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Cool game! graphics are very good! but sounds are quite unpleasant

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Well the graphics and animations are sweet but the gameplay itself lack of depth.
I think of little things that could make it more challenging :

- Dungeon slot could include space for heroes too : when a dungeon is full, hero just skip them so player can't rely anymore on just one dungeon. After that you can alternate swarm and boss wave, so player have to pay more attention to position strategy

- paper/rock/scissor or whatever elementals damage mechanic to make some specific heroes stronger against some monsters. Make the road sequence unique to each level so player have to learn with experience which wave type come from which direction.

I think it will let you take full advantage of you dungeon+slots mechanic which is very good and bring some freshness to TD genre
And congratulation for making such a good game in 48h, I'm fond of the goat master, really help to feel like you are the villain :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46am

I am victorious! I've driven all the hope from people's hearts!!!!! MWAHAHAHA.
SWEET game! The retro graphics are super cool

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:16pm

Thanks everyone :)
@strong99: Yeah, it's totally doable with 2 dungeons. Balancing should be done.

@Hatscat: Thanks! I didn't put much care to the sounds due to the time limit. Maybe I should at least add TURN OFF sounds next time.

@Benjamin: Great input! Believe me or not I had that in plan, dungeon slots and some fighting system that would make everything more interesting like advantages and disatvantages to different dungeons. Or some dungeons that are for only 1 hero type so you can filter knights off the wizards.

I agree with everything and I wish I had more time for the game. Who knows, maybe I'll expand that to bigger game once ;)

@Christina: Well done! You trully know how to plain a villain ^^ Thanks :D

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:09pm

@Blodyavenger You should definitively. I you dont, I will :-P

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Cool game! Shortcut keys for buildings and creatures would have been cool, but anyway I liked it.

Eniko says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:56am

Really fun game, and awesome pixel art. The only thing that felt a bit off was the balance, I never actually got to build the bigger dungeons because all my money went into maintaining my smaller ones. Maybe I was just doing it wrong, but even so I managed to beat the game.

VDZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Interesting game. The only thing I have to add that hasn't been said before: The interface and stream of information to the player needs some work. You can't drag dungeon windows out of the way, you can't have multiple dungeon windows open, it's easy to misclick when trying to add a monster to a dungeon, getting no feedback whether placement was success or failure (a sound and a simple visual sign would do), you can't see from the map whether a dungeon has monsters or not, you get no notification when all enemies in a dungeon are defeated, etc. Improving that would make the game a lot more fun to play.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Thanks everyone for trying it out and your constructive critis :) I've also released Post-LD version with some updates

Changes log:

- Dungeons can accept X amount of heroes at once
- If there are any creatures in your dungeons the flag is placed as a notification
- Prices and gold drops are more balanced
- Creature and Hero stats are more balanced
- Stone Golem has lowered attack power and is locked for first 2/3 of the agme
- Dungeon window moved to the right
- Game ends when all heroes are dead including boss that spawns at the end
- Parties spawned are leveled up properly now

@VDZ: Yes, there are many things I didn't think about at start and then I simply didn't have time to implement. I've done some balacing in the update as you can se and added "Dungeon has creatures" notification. Who knows, maybe I'll make a true game out of this LD prototype. Thanks a lot for huge input :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Graphics are well-drawn, and I liked how those heros drank the potion, and then faced their inevitable death >:D

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:07pm

great game. one thing i missed was to click and see what monsters are in the dungeon. It only show the monsters when I but one and try to put it in the castle. nice concept

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Thanks to both of you :)

@sharbelf: you can right click on the dungeon to see monsters

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Good job. Its funny what they say before entering the dungeons.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:12pm

This is a well made evil sim game! I did feel overwhelmed near the end. I basically just ended up having two temples and just stuff it with as much creatures as I can click. Might be better to just auto collect those golds if their sole purpose on ground is waiting to be clicked. Graphics fit well with the theme. Audio is alright, at least it's there!

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Played it again, the balance seems better now. :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:51pm

A very cool game with nice graphics. Here is my feedback (don't misunderstand the amount of critism :D).

- You can't reset a game (ESC -> New Game does nothing)
- You mixed up the expectations how a common player will use the GUI. I had some troubles with placing the monster. My expectation was to left click for opening a dungeon and then a single left click on a monster to place it in it. Rightclicking for opening is strange. Additional I had problems to place monsters in the open dungeon dialog.
- Respective the gameplay, I would make different strengths of the dungeons. It gets too easy to let your main dungeon generate gold for the biggest dungeon and then just spawn golems in.
- Different position should have some impact on gameplay. Here it is just the best to spawn the dungeon directly in front of your main dungeon. The managing aspect is somehow destroyed then.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:07am

despite the already commented problems with the GUI, the game is pretty fun!

amazing pixel art graphics... and... about those sound effects... it will be better change them xD

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:48am

I really like your game, a good gameplay and a big space for improvements! well done!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Liked it a lot. Top 10

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Very awesome game! Needs some music and a few tweaks to make it really rad, but you have an amazing start! I'm gonna jump into the post compo version right away! Great work!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:56pm

The fantastic pixel art attracted me. Building a forest and populating it with the big gray golem like creatures entertained me. If you continue to develop this, would extra dimensions enable a rocks paper scissors to decide what is the optimal mix of dungeon and monster selection and placement?

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Not bad, a bit repetitive for me

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]