December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lucifer's Stand

by Bloodyaugust - Jam Entry

You are Lucifer, defending yourself against the Archangel Michael. Spawn your many minions, and send him back to heaven where he belongs.

Google Chrome is recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Theme(Jam)3.13
#262Innovation(Jam)2.39
#272Fun(Jam)2.26
#283Humor(Jam)1.75
#298Mood(Jam)2.00
#301Graphics(Jam)2.17
#307Overall(Jam)2.26
#742Coolness46%

Comments

chas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

Unrunnable.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38am

It should be fine now. :)

Kuothe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15am

I really like the shoot'em up + tower defense idea, but the art style (browns against browns) makes it really difficult to see where's everything on screen.

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06pm

Click three buttons and watch bullets cover the screen; the game! I liked the style of the minions but it was rather hard to see where they were/what they did with the background being so noisy, and there being 2000 bullets on the screen. I would lower the contrast on the background, and maybe make the bullets a bit smaller?

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

How to play?

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43pm

@Naxum: I'm glad there are people who appreciate what a Bullet Hell game is all about! :D Definitely understanding that the contrast between the demons and the background is not nearly high enough.
@Manest: The load screen describes it. It really is as simple as "press these buttons here, win". :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:22pm

You definitely managed to nail the "bullet hell" aesthetic. I couldn't seem to kill Michael.

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:45pm

I win !! ..
Good little game , not so clear but fun .

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:05am

Yay! So you are part of the reverse shooter club too?

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:58am

@blob: Is that an actual thing?

goulding57 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:45pm

Hey congrats on submitting! I found your game a little boring. Cool bullet effects. However, like others have said, couldn't tell what was going on. Not really sure how I won, but I did. Keep it up though.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:16pm

The graphic of the 2nd demon (gray one) reminds me of devil from Forbidden Forest. Spam buttons, win game! Even though Michael cheated by hiding in a corner with a ray of blue blobs to destroy everything coming to him. The brown + brown color scheme makes it hard to see what is going on. Nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]