Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Heroes are so Annoying! - Knighty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of an evil RPG villain and try to take down those pesky Heroes, by commanding an army of monsters.

The goal is to defeat the Heroes before they reach the end of the dungeon. Use the WASD keys to move the view around, and click to place a monster. Placing monsters requires Evil Points, as seen at the bottom right. You change the selected monster by clicking the icons at the bottom.
When the Hero comes into contact with a monster, a battle will commence!

WASD \ Arrow Keys- Move View or Cursor
X - Confirm
C - Cancel
Left Click - Place monster

View Knighty's journal. | View all entries by Knighty

Ratings

#9Overall4.07
#12Theme4.32
#26Fun3.77
#32Graphics4.18
#82Mood3.43
#83Innovation3.65
#155Humor3.15
#354Audio2.45
#776Coolness45%

Comments

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54pm

This fit the theme very well, this is the best idea i played for the moment :)

deepnight says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

A very solid game here :) The controls can be perfected (switching mouse/keyboard too often) but the overall realization is great! The art is especially good.

It's funny to see that both of us followed the same idea but with different gameplay directions :)

Great job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Nice flipped perspective of usual rpg adventure, really solid game and nice graphics!

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Great graphics, fun to play and very polished. Some nice parody too :)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:06am

Nice and relaxing. A bit annoying that enemies... er, players... had to walk into my... enemies. Oh my, I've gone and confused myself again, hah ah.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49am

Wow. Awesome game. The graphics are really great and it fits the theme very well. The controls coud be better, though. Like someone before said, switching from mouse to keyboard is annoying like heroes :)

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56am

Beautiful entry. Wonderful graphics. Strongest entry I've played. Wonderful twist on the now all-to-common game-play mechanism.

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Nicely done!

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Nice work! I found it one of the most overall enjoyable games in the competition so far. I wasn't able to get past the last level, though. Not sure if it's because I'm an idiot or because it's impossible...

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21pm

One criticism : the attack "reduce damage for 1 turn", "might dodge the attack for a turn" aren't interesting at all, cause it just makes you loose a turn. It would be more efficient if it lasts 2-3 turns.

Aside from that, this game is awesome. It reminds me the deepnight's entry I played earlier, but I like more the strategic aspect of this one. (Deepnight still win on the graphics ^^, even if yours are pretty cool)

"a really long summon animation..." That makes me laugh!

I finished the three levels and totally would have played some more. I like how the heroe's crew grow, how their level increse, how they find/use objects on the way...
You didn't forget anything! Very impressive!

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Nice game, I enjoyed the descriptions on most of the moves, and the final boss fight brings up some painful JRPG memories.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Good Entry, good idea to put the player in the evil master spawner :D

Rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:01pm

So Awesome, Im in love with the villain vs hero rpg idea. Just need a theme tune and its perfect!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Wow by far the best game I played so far. Very good job :)

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:59pm

I have no words to say. The game is just so awesome I would even go and make it released for some more serious purpose (like an Android game or smth like that). By far my fav

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03pm

SO cute! Very very cool, very solid game. Loved the impressive summoning animation at the end ;) It doesn't get more on-theme than this

BenW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12pm

My only complaint is that sometimes I felt a little rushed to pick a new guy and place them after a battle

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Awesome reversed roles! It does feel a bit rushed, and the fact that the player goes on a pre-defined path is a bit disappointing. Once you fail you can just kind of make a line of little minions to drain all energy before they reach a chest. Needs some music and more varied sound effects to really set the mood, but the graphics are incredibly charming. I'd love to see this game extended.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Nice :) Liked the inverse way may be it is kinda difficult but nice :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24pm

It's really good !

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:29pm

This is great!

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Totally awesome, really enjoyed this. I'd love to see some more levels, I want to play it some more :)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Very nice indeed. Played all the way through.

Controls were a little odd though.

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Pretty cool concept, and really well put together I thought.

I do think the abilities that have effects for 1 turn are rather pointless I think, they need to last longer.

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:14pm

This is an awesome idea and cute game overall.

However, I have some constructive criticism. The mixture of combat and "overview mode" doesn't work for me. It feels stressful. I think its because I don't control when a combat starts.

Just when I was thinking about where to put a monster, the screen changes without me having a chance to avoid it.

But great job anyway :)

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44pm

cute sprites! Really liking the build your own dungeon monsters approach, nice job

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Awesome!
One half a reversed version of Final Fantasy, one half Dungeon Keeper. It is fun, and fits the theme perfectly.

Also, I'm amazed at how polished the game looks. Great job!!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12am

That was fun! Didn't realize "x" was to select the options. Took me a good minute pressing enter and clicking and figuring out what button to press would select. Maybe adding Enter as another key would be a good idea? Despite that, I had a lot of fun playing. It was challenging!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:59am

Great game! I might even check out the source and mess around with it. :D

Great graphics, too.

Meep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:23am

I really enjoyed this game. It fit the theme well, the art was beautiful, and the gameplay was well executed! Great work! :D

amassingham says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:28am

Great. One of my favorite entries so far.

laaph says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:30am

Cute game! Enjoyable but not memorable.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51am

Awesome game.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47am

Top graphics. I'm sceptical about the monster placing mechanic but the rpg fight are great and it's really fun to see the healing herbs, revive and like on the AI side :)

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:06am

Really solid game, the gameplay was good as well as the graphics. The theme fits well too.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44am

Awesome. Fits the theme well and I loved the graphics.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:35am

my favorite game so far ! well done :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:58am

I was hooked from the goat lord's first evil BAA HA HA.

tomvert says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:21pm

One of the best entry i've played. The gameplay is well balanced, I had to think little strategies, I wish you could develop this in a longer game. I like the fact that you have all the information about the spells you can cast. The graphics fits perfectly. People have said this before, but the controls are quite awkward, switching between mouse and keyboard. Still I had much fun till the end. (The final battle was a bit too easy).

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Some of the moves seem really useless. Moves are only good if they eventually end up allowing you to do more damage. Also switching between mouse and keyboard so quickly is a bit of a pain.

Apart from that a really solid entry. Seems to be a good mix between making something impressive that was still not so ambitious that it couldn't be polished in the end.

also, I don't think it's actually possible to use less than 6 minions on stage 2. Does it just always say that?

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Okay, so I beat dungeon two by only losing 4 minions. But I´m PRETTY sure it´s impossible to do better than that

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Also, the game can´t count, I only used three minions and it said I lost 4, while I only lost 2, and one survived.

But you did get me replaying, so good job on that ;)

Pitoum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Very cool entry. I'm not a fan of JRPG, but this inverted game is very cool and unsual way to play!
Great work here :)

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:26pm

this is one of the best entries i've played,good job.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Very nice pixel graphics and game idea. I think the monsters should wander round with an attack range to the hero, otherwise it's a little bit to static. But overall very good entry!!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:10am

Quite innovative idea and nice graphics. The game is very fun too! I didn't understand exactly when I can place monsters, but eventually I beat the game! :)

Kuulog says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Very interesting twist on the RPG genre.

edmazing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:59am

Source link is broken (leads to an empty zip)

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:08am

Good fun and fits the theme well. Would like it if you could just use the mouse - switching between the keyboard and mouse feels a bit fiddly.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Lovely.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Great artwork!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Impressive amount of game made in so short. One of the best at LD25.

chambers says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:33am

Good game, takes a few attempts to get it right. I hate it when I place a minion and the hero doesn't cross its path. Maybe it would be more fun if minions had automatic behaviors in the map, like walking towards the hero or marching in a fixed cycle.

Houly says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:23am

Looks cool, plays nice and feel very polished! Very cool.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Was a lot of fun to play. Good job! I think the fighting needs some balancing respective the strength of the encounters I can place. I think, it is a bit too easy.

The monster placing mechanic makes sadly no sense. I think you planned something other with it, but like you made it, it would be better, if I can enter the fight directly with the choosen monster.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:24am

This is a brilliant game! It's hard, it's fun, it's beautiful. The only thing I would improve are controls, but they are not that bad.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Lovely made!

bentog says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Well done, the fact that you did an RPG fighting system in 48 hours is amazing :O Also, I love Blade Storm!

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:59pm

A great game. A bunch of polished content, solid mechanics, great graphics/sound. I really liked the humor ("a really long summon animation plays and then...") Can't ask for much more except a third hero to squash.

blackotus says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:20am

It reminded me Lassic! Phantasy Star :)

Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:36am

Great entry. Was fun and challenging to play. Was sort of hard to scroll to keep up with the heroes while also clicking the mouse but that's polish. I'd keep working on this and maybe make a larger game.

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:47am

pretty nifty stuff, though i think the mechanics could've been made a little bit more interesting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]