December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Gardener Showdown

by Amadeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

READ THIS TO GET THIS GAME WORKING!!!:
To play this game you need to press play and then reload the browser. Then the game will work as it should. (I have a weird bug where the first time the game state loads the buttons width and height properties are set to 0 meaning that they are only clickable on their upper-leftmost pixel.)

That time has come again. Every year the town has a competition to see who can grow the largest carrot.
Your neighbor always wins somehow but this time will be different, this time you will win by any means neccisary.
There are two gardens growing carrots next to eachother. Your carrots will grow at a much slower rate than your
neightbors, so you must sabatoge your neighbors feild by putting rabbits in it, spraying them with chemicals,
and transplanting weeds.

weeds slow the rate of growth a little
chemicals slow the rate of growth a lot
the rabbit eats a whole carrot

get coins by promptly taking care of your plants

Click the icons to your right that correspond to what the carrots need and then click the correct carrot to accelerate it's growth and earn money. Buy sabotages and put them in your neighbors garden to slow his plants growth. weeds cost 10, chemicals cost 20, and the rabbit costs 30.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1123Coolness14%

Comments

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

Sorry, does not appear to do anything. I just see a blank screen with a green button that says "Play." But when I click it, nothing happens. I tried both Firefox and Chrome. Running both under Windows 7 64-bit.

Amadeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

Yes, I don't know what happened. I am working on figuring it out right now. The play button won't call it's click handler suddenly for some reason. It works for me when I open firebug and reload for some reason though, and I have removed all console log commands so I have no idea why.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16pm

I don't understanded who you game works, or if it works.

SXPanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11pm

You need to put the controls in the description. I have no idea how to do anything.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Seems like a nice concept but like others I'm struggling to get it to work :(

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:24pm

I didn't really get it..

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:07pm

I don't get it. I cliked my carrots, it made tem grow and make me money, then I used chemicls, destroying his garden, making my carrots grow huge, nd then the game suddenly restarted. What was that supposed to be?

jmaasing says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I can't seem to interact with anything, I see the playing field and the carrots but wherever I click, nothing happens :(

Pitoum says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Sorry don't seem to work for me :(

Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:11am

I saw some potential in your game, but the execution was not that good or clear yet. I managed to grow some huge carrots a couple of times, but it was not clear what the end of the game was (it suddenly stopped).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]