Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Minions - ripter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to take over the world by conquering three castles. Get zombies, giants, dragons, and even goats to join your army of destruction.

To Play:
Click on an adjacent node to try and move there. Empty nodes are random encounters. You can visit them as many times as you want.

Note:
The Ok button on the Win/Lose screen does nothing. You just have to close the program.

View ripter's journal. | View all entries by ripter

Ratings

Coolness64%
#263Theme3.44
#295Humor2.73
#340Overall3.03
#371Innovation2.84
#471Graphics2.69
#484Fun2.59
#572Mood2.38
#604Audio1.20

Comments

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39am

Cannot rate. The provided OS/X app is a "classic" app, and so basically no mac purchased in the last eight to ten years can run it.

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51am

It's not a "classic" app, My system is 10.7.4 and it also runs on Snow Leopard. Are you getting some kind of error message?

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00am

@Falkreon I had the wrong value in the plist. It's fixed now. Don't know why it didn't say anything on my machine.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20am

This feels like a good start to a game to me. Since all the player does is choose where to go and let pseudorandom code decide what happens, I feel like there isn't enough player agency. It's very nice, though, for what it is.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27am

While the idea is interesting, the game lacks challenge. Really, all you're doing is clicking in the correct sequence so that you can amass enough forces to storm the next town. However, it would be interesting if the actual fight against the town could be played out, with the outcome changing based on how skillfully you command your troops.

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

In this game there are many kinds of minions, but I can't really understand what are their differences and what kind I should to collect next time. It would be good if you use less kinds and emphasize their characteristics.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

I personally liked this one. The random encounters are often at least slightly humorous, and the turn based gameplay suits this game well. I really enjoyed building up a massive army; but this unfortunately leads to my main complaint about this game, its too easy. After a few minutes, your undead army will be so large that its nearly unstoppable, and because of that, I flew through the rest of the game. It was really fun, but I hope if you continue this game, you either make it longer or more challenging (but preferably both).

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

Couldn't run on OSX, but ran fine on the 'ol PC. Had a lot of fun playing. The graphics have their charm, but the blank text fields are quite lackluster. All in all pretty fun!

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

First of: I really enjoy playing your game and actually caught myself playing a little longer than I should have ;). But there are some balancing issues I think (You can "farm" good events it seems like and sometimes you can't go back to the previous waypoint, because the map scrolls too far...

Milo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:50am

I like that your game takes place on a graph - it's unique. However, I didn't feel like there was enough choices for me to make - if I couldn't defeat a town, but there were no other towns to go after, I'd just have to go between two nodes and get random events.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:02am

It's a good idea, but I think it's too easy. Some sound effects and music could've been added, too.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:15am

Cool idea. I thought it was pretty great for 48 hrs. Could be a fun mobile game with some added interactive features.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:29am

Love the concept, had a good time just reading what happened at each node, though a larger variety of nodes/castles and some sound would have been even more awesome!

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:29pm

This game has a very ambitious feel to it and is very enjoy able. Got to a part where i needed two ghasts but i only had one, searched everywhere but couldn't find one. I think it has a lot of potential!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:45am

I could see myself playing a fully developed game like this.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:00am

Just wanted to add that I also tried this on my Mac (10.6.8) and it worked fine.

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:57am

Interesting concept and nice graphics. But I think the game needs more control over things to be fun

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]