December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Die a Hero or Become the Villain

by Mr. Wonko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I used Ludum Dare 25 as an opportunity to learn Inform 7, a language for writing Text Adventures. I succeeded at that, if not at actually writing a winnable game in it. But look at it this way: When does the villain ever win? So it's just fine.

The most important commands are (some of these may qualify as spoilers?) look, go x (or just s/n/e/w), enter x, think, take x, inventory (or just i), switch x, live, attack x, burn x.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Humor3.25
#210Theme3.55
#389Fun2.80
#406Overall2.90
#474Mood2.59
#534Innovation2.50
#1150Coolness10%

Comments

vociferocity says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33am

very fun! I love IF, and it's awesome to see that someone attempted one for LD :) it's a shame you couldn't get it finished, but what's here is very entertaining

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24am

> 'die'

Yay!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

Couldn't find the way to actually become the villain.

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44am

You got five stars for graphics! :D
Good to see a text adventure for once!

ntbm says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31am

I hope you'll find the time to complete it, because i wanna dominate the world!

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Great dastardly music!

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Woops, wrong tab. Sigh...

Nutter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33pm

I have no idea how to do anything in this, as there isn't a list of what verbs it recognises.

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Yay for text adventure :D it would be great if you could give us a list of the commands that can be used. i tried to walk / go in all directions but it's allways saying that i can't go there :(

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

I enjoyed it, but did get stuck... but that's what always happened with me and text adventures! :-/

oldtopman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

I love your text adventure game! While incomplete, it had me laughing.

For those of you who can't get past the starting point, try "live" or "die".

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

'eat cat'

Amazing writing and very funny responses to some commands I tried! Thank you for making me laugh lots! :D

Mr. Wonko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

Thanks for the nice comments. I've added the most important commands to the description. I'll consider finishing this once I've got some time, maybe at the end of the week.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]