December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Maiden Muncher Hero Cruncher

by solidplasma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Man, I thought I wasn't going to make this deadline, especially when I kept encountering a crash that I thought I couldn't fix. Anyway, this game follows the hero as he tries to reach you (the final boss) by traveling through three worlds before your lair. Your objective is to place enemies and obstacles in his path to either weaken him so you can finish him off, or destroy him before he ever reaches you. The art and music are lacking, because I'm not great at either of those, and I spent about half a day trying to fix a crash, but it should be fairly fun if you get the hang of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#433Theme3.06
#496Humor2.15
#512Audio1.87
#587Innovation2.40
#632Mood2.23
#708Fun1.93
#744Overall2.06
#744Graphics1.63
#948Coolness32%

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

I am happy that you could recover from your crash (or your PCs crash :))

The overall idea looks quite nice. I used the "slow" attack types which yelds more minions in a fight, right? But maybe I missed something. Because after a while of fighting the hero still had a lot of hitpoints and my patience was about to end because it got rather repetitive.

Thanks for rating my game btw!

karlin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

I really love the concept, sort of like a tower defence rpg. Would love to see it fleshed out with more moves to add a bit more strategy to the battles.

feyleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

The concept is really cool. This game was pretty good, even though I didn't finish. I'll try again later, though.
I enjoyed summoning the swirling vortex in the second stage, very nice idea!

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

I'm not sure what "slow" attack types you're referring to, but the different enemies in the fights have different stats that determine how likely they will be to successfully dodge, how much experience they yield, the maximum number of them there will be, etc. It does take a while to defeat him, but he has to go through 3 worlds to reach you, so it's about placing enemies strategically. Anyway, thanks for rating mine, too!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

I could not believe how long this thing was... wow. If the attacks were faster and i didn't have to wait for the hero to cross the screen... haha. WHERE ARE THE MAIDENS? titledeception!

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

Interesting game. It was fun for a short time but it took to long.

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

Hahah, sorry, I was trying to make the RPG system look good. It really is not just about the battles, but also which enemies you place when. If an enemy that will do more damage is recharging, you could try and stall him with one of the traps (middle button). I suppose it could take more experimentation than some people have the time for.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Evil rabbit, I love it!

VDZ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12pm

The concept of this game is interesting, but the way it's executed is unfortunately not much fun.

The two biggest issues I had with this game are the lack of strategy and the slowness of the game. The idea is that you attack the hero with the most fitting enemies/traps for that situation, but since all three recharge separately and the enemies are barely different, it becomes just a matter of spamming everything you have.

It becomes even more of a problem in the battles, as your only options are 'attack' and 'dodge', with 'attack' just dealing a set amount of damage (unless you're low on HP and the hero has priority), and 'dodge' randomly either dealing or not dealing twice that much damage, and only if the hero strikes that character - in practice, dodge is completely useless except for that single situation described above where attack is not useful. This lack of strategy makes battles a matter of just mashing the attack button until it's over.

But what really makes the first problem stand out is the second problem, the slowness of it all. When you're about to fight the hero you can pretty much calculate the entire result in advance - the hero will lose between X and Y health and you lose the battle, regardless of what you do in-battle. But every time you attack the hero, you have to play a complete battle, having to watch the same slow animations over and over again. I just stopped using monsters at some point because of how slow and repetitive it all was.

Adding just a bit more strategy to the battles would've gone a long way, but as it is now, I'm afraid the game just isn't very fun.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Very interesting, putting the enemies down in an RPG type fashion. At first I thought it'd be really easy, and I'd kill him before he got to the boss, but it turned out that I lost in the end. I guess you could say that it was well evened out and needed strategy, for example, sending too many enemies after the hero will level him up too much. But I wasn't all that big a fan of him just running away a million times in the end in order to accomplish this. Nice game, though, keep up the good work!

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:50am

I really liked the concept of stopping the hero and the old RPG style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]