December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

And No, I Won't Tell You What It Is Yet

by wademcgillis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a goat. Eat clothes.

... uh. Escape actually DOESN'T toggle sound. OOPS! Enjoy the melodious tunes in the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Humor3.68
#245Mood3.00
#273Audio2.69
#335Fun2.89
#430Innovation2.70
#470Graphics2.70
#474Overall2.79
#579Theme2.67
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16am

Well, that was... awesome!

Love the minimalistic graphics, and it oozes charm. What gameplay there is works also quite well. (although it probably could've done without the flashing)

Nice work!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22am

Weird. So weird. A little bit wonderful too.

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12am

seems legit

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03am

This game has it all! :)

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24am

At first I thought this goat is crazy and after some time I didn't know what to think. It got creepy once the key was mine. Didn't finish it though. I liked it since it was creative in some way :)

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:44am

very cute =D. i noticed the generated path seemed to get longer each time i failed, which was a cool touch.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:49am

I would have put a mute button in.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:03am

would be cute and fun if the music wasn't so LOUD AND ANNOYING.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:14am

AAAAAAAAH This is sooo awesome!!!!!!!!! Why didn't I think of ripping people's clothes off?!?!?! Such an amazing idea!!! Love this entry. :D

mcc says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Hah, this was silly, but quite satisfying! I liked that you bothered to tell us what the controls were and that it was done in a friendly way, the intro and outro screens felt rewarding. The music made me actually laugh. I really liked the dinky Metroid and Zelda sound cues. The in-game music unfortunately got very repetitive, it would have been... potentially enjoyable with a longer loop.

This game just felt good to play, the graphics were fun, the mechanics of running around and eating stuff felt fun, I liked the "twist" that your purpose in the game wasn't what it appeared to be at first. It felt too bad to eventually realize there was not really any strategy or reason to what you were doing. Pre-twist, there is no benefit to doing anything you do. Post-twist, you really can't control whether you get hurt or not-- I tried like stealth, peeking in a door, checking if there's an enemy in the room, popping back out again if so, moving on if not, but often I'd get hurt *while* the room-transition animation was going on. There's of course nothing I can do to prevent that from happening, which meant whether I made it through the post-twist game was essentially random, which meant in the pre-twist game I was just ignoring everything (since there was no benefit to eating) and. It felt too bad cuz you had good basic mechanics so this could have been one of those rare legitimately fun "oh wow, this is actually a game" LDs, if we were given more to do instead of stuff like grazing just being window dressing. What if eating plants regained health, so that pretwist is about identifying plants to eat along your route and posttwist is about collecting them before you run out of HP?

In the absence of this, the game started to take on absurdist, existential dimensions. Why is the goat doing this with no mechanical reward? Why does anyone do anything? Is this not what life is? At first I thought that the idea was in the back half you were facing the ghosts of your victims, MGS3 style-- i.e. if you ate no one's clothes along the route you would see no opposition on the way back. But no, it seemed to make no difference either way. I began to see the game world as fundamentally nihilistic— no penalty for your villainy, but no rewards, either, the PC blindly, joylessly consuming for consumption's sake. At this point it occurred to me that despite the theme of VILLAINY, this is the first game I have seen this LD to raise moral issues as part of its narrative

One more thing, on my machine at least at the point of the "twist" the game would slow down for like five seconds, which was kinda annoying?

-- other mcc

dragonfi says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:57pm

I got to the end of the first part, but the game started tearing in the second part, making it basically unplayable. In addition I got a bit nauseaous from the flashing lights, so I didn't took another try.

Apart from all theese, the game do have a certain trippy quality, but I think mmc expanded enough on that.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:31am

Agh, I wish I could beat it before rating, but it doesn't look like I will! Ah, well.

Bad:
-The whole eating thing seems completely pointless.
-From the graphics, I couldn't tell at first whether hitting the ghosts got me health or took it away.
-It's a little... weird.

Good:
+It's a little... weird!
+The gameplay works well. I think.

Zed says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:33pm

There's something gloriously fantastic about everything you do, really, isn't there?

fishbrain says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:34pm

lol... that was cool! great job!

Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Not bad. Doesn't seem like there is any reason to eat clothes/plants, though. Game became almost unplayable after the key was collected (framerate tanked when the flashing started up and the ghosts came). At first it's hard to tell that the ghosts are causing damage; the damage indicator reads like hearts are being added instead of removed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]