December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Babies

by EricTheCoolDude - Jam Entry

Hey, you ever dreamed of stalking your prey, slinking in the shadows, and feasting on human flesh? Sure you have, everyone has. Now have you ever dreamed you were doing all those things as a *tiny monster baby*? Heck no, but now you can live out that dream you never had with MONSTER BABIES!

or rather, later you can. Unfortunately, MONSTER BABIES has hit a bit of a snag; in the final hours of making this neato 3D-styled stealth-platformer, our programmer was forced by his parents to head out for the night. Rest assured our team has tried as hard as it can to get this thing out the door by deadline, but unfortunately it might not quite be in the cards.

However, we're going to be running on the logic of making up for lost time, and our programmer is going to move that hour his parents bedgrudged him to tommorow, so we can get the game in a playable state for you guys. Evolution! Gravity-bending! Sadism! Torment! All these things and more are available when MONSTER BABIES goes up very, very, very soon!

Edit: It's up now! Play it you fools

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:59am

Waiting for your playable. Screenshots look good.

7Soul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

It tells me to install the unity webplayer even though I already have it. Just installed it again and it still tells me to install it

ThomasRyder says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:50am

Nice mechanic. Stealth VVVVVV.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Same thing, it tells me to install Unity webplayer even if it already is.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Great concept. Great art. Hilarious OYOYOYOYOYOYOY sound. But it's pretty dang hard. I can be on the ceiling but the guys shoot me without even aiming up. It's a bit frustrating, which sucks... because I really dig everything else about this.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:40pm

challenging and fun! Random monster colors was such a nice touch, I loved that!

Top marks form mood, theme and fun!

Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:38am

It took me a while to get used to the controls (I guess I didn't read them carefully enough), but after I figured that out, I quite liked the game!
I like the way the different monsters move (especially the grown-up, with the swinging arms), that the monsters have a different color every time, and how the panning of the OYOYOY-sound depends on where they walk. ;)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very fun for the while, felt like when I got to the second stage of the monster that things slowed down a little though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]