Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Monkey - laaph - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No windows build, I am terribly sorry!

View laaph's journal. | View all entries by laaph

Ratings

Coolness50%
#395Humor2.40
#460Audio2.13
#561Theme2.74
#599Mood2.31
#644Fun2.17
#699Overall2.26
#702Innovation2.06
#746Graphics1.61

Comments

laaph says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:04am

Forgot to include source, it is available here.
http://laaph.com/downloads/ludumdare25/LudumDare25.zip

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20am

They never seemed to use the left ladder, so just standing over the right one and dropping barrels created an impregnable defense...

Nice to see an OS X only game though.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:23am

This game has charm. I love the animation when you get attacked by goats. It's exactly the way I imagined monkeys react when they get attacked by goats in the wild. Enjoyed it.

pbdiode says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44am

Great start! Interesting to see an osx only app!

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Looks like an interesting game. Too bad there isn't a windows port.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Sorry for not being able to test your game :( I'm under Linux so OSX only games I cannot run. Good luck though!

dwrensha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:44pm

I ate a goat and then the game froze : (

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Sorry couldn't test this game. I have linux and windows. Consider writing a port!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:49am

sorry, no OS/X here

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Didn't get any goats so far, but so far I've seen a reasonable reversal of DK. The player AI has a right-going bias so indeed if I time my drops right I can be there for a long time.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:17pm

The idea was cool, but the graphics were rather horrid and you could just spam the right ladder to the top and win forever. Still neat before you discover that trick.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

A reverse Donkey Kong kind of? Could use a little more polish, and a little bit more variety in attacks and enemies, but a good attempt!

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:55pm

There's a spot in the middle of the screen in which you can just sit and press space to keep on "winning". Nice entry anyway!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Sadly can't play this on Windows, it looks pretty darn good though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]