December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Business Croc, Nobody Likes You

by intmain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a business alligator who kills things smaller than it to maintain it's investments.

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Graphics4.16
#107Humor3.37
#178Mood3.16
#194Audio2.94
#200Overall3.29
#213Fun3.15
#254Theme3.45
#530Innovation2.51
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Zaxuhe says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

I liked the art, but for me it felt like it was a little repetitive after a while (and the music was a little annoying after some time)

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

Hilarious idea. Love how you capitalized on the theme of being a villain by just being an overpowered thing that stomps almost everything it touches. The chart and jargon are a really nice touch, wish it ended properly.

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

I felt like a genuine villain, and that was fun. Good art, and it was fun from the start (though it did feel a bit repetitive)

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Nice :) loved the art :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04pm

I like the graphics, but the gameplay is rather repetitive. It's fun to be evil crocotile.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Great graphics, and the whole concept was coherent as well. Solid platform mechanics. I enjoyed the random business speak that came with my budget report. Good work on the blood, carnage and death of fluffy things too!

intmain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

Thanks for the feedback! I've added a new "Post Compo" version which has a few big changes. You can use you money to invest in things and there are lives and endings now.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20am

This shows how even a simple game can be memorable with tons of polish.

Glad to see you did a post-compo version, the option to buy itens makes the game strangely more addictive.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25am

This game is very fun. The retro feel of it definitely suits it very well. Graphically it is very nice, wouldn't be surprised if it ended up being one of the most popular Ludum Dare 25 games, in terms of graphics. Gameplay-wise, it's not amazingly innovative but does things in a funny way. I like that at the end of each stage you get a stock market graph. Well done!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:19am

Pretty solid. Not sure what the point on the projections sheet is.

caribou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

Simple idea and really fun game !

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Really liked the pixel art.
The stun period was kind of annoying. probably would have been more enjoyable if it just deducted time instead.

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Good graphics ! Linking business and violence in such a simple way is a fun idea.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Not your best work, but still good. The graphics were great, but the gameplay wasn't very innovative and didn't end up being very interesting. However, that suit makes me feel pretty villainous.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01am

The games got a great level of polish and style which drew me in, but it gets really repetitive and way too simple. Also the scoring depended on way too much luck (as in what the character would drop) more so that my skill in actually attacking the other characters in thescene, and the whole bank ROI stuff just confused the hell out of (which may have been the intention).

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

I like the graphics most, and the gore was fun. Those butterflies have a lot of guts! :) Nice platformer.

pbdiode says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:40am

Good job! I feel like there needed to be more variation for the level that I played, but overall, great job, especially on the music and graphics.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:42am

Loved the art and rather fun to play.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Great game! This is fun! It could do with a bit more of an objective and some balancing; for instance, the difference in value between the coins (1/10/50) is too extreme. But the mechanic works well and the controls are quite smooth. And did I mention that it looks and sounds gorgeous?

chambers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:52pm

I loved the presentation and theme. Unfortunately, the gameplay itself is kind of generic. Not to mention the luck factor plays too much of a big role.

Not a bad game overall though :) The graphs and the business speeches make it worth playing

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Good: nice graphics and an excellent take on "lives" with the graph. =)
Improve: the audio was a biiit much. *Argh*

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Very nice art! a little bit too hard for me

Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Solid platformer! Jumping feels great :)

The narrative doesn't quite work though, and it doesn't really feel like "villain"

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:05pm

nice entry!

_estuardolh says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:28pm

i like the game! :D
good art, good sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]