December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

MortVille

by Soggyclog - Jam Entry

Help Morty the evil wizard wreak havoc on the village folk. Turn them into minions and use them to take out heroes sent to stop you.

NOTE: There is no installer, just an EXE to run.

Instructions:
- Avoid HEROES (BLUE GUYS), one touch and you're dead
- Pick up ORBS
- Shoot ORBS at CIVILIANS to convert them to MINIONS
- Order MINIONS to destroy the HEROES
- ORBS will not work against HEROES


Controls:
- WASD or ARROWS to move Villian
- Shoot ORBS with SPACE, AIM WITH MOUSE
- Left click on minion or drag a box to select minions
- Right click to issue orders for selected minions


Team members:
Dave Tran - Art
Tamas Szathmary - Programming and some art


EDIT: I fixed a bug where the difficulty was not being reset upon restarting. Re-uploaded the zip file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Overall(Jam)3.33
#108Graphics(Jam)3.55
#126Fun(Jam)3.00
#155Theme(Jam)3.33
#170Innovation(Jam)2.83
#197Mood(Jam)2.71
#238Audio(Jam)2.00
#262Humor(Jam)1.93
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18am

The sound effect were really lacking. The direction of an orb when you shoot it is unpredictable and heroes (blue guys) have too broad reach. I really like the graphics, the background feels really nice, but otherwise I didn't enjoy this game much

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19am

I loved the graphics, the minion's shape is perfect :D

The gameplay is kind of original too. I felt it like, a multi-tasking pacman.

The blue guys pwned me very easily, i couldn't collect orbs quickly enough : (

EpaceGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36am

I really like this game, it just needs to be a sped up a tiny bit. Good animations with the orbs. My high score is 19/22.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41am

The graphic style is just absolutely beautiful.

Soggyclog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Thanks a lot for the feedback guys! I was tired and forgot to write that you aim the orbs with the mouse, and shoot with space. Sorry, kind of important I know, I've added that info now. And yes I agree, there are a lot of areas lacking due to running out of time. :\

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Nice art style but didn't really know what to do.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Had a classic kind of quality to it, good stuff. Gets quite hectic in a fun way. A little bit faster would have been nice.

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:54pm

You have a great sense of color. One thing that feels unfair is that the heroes can kill minions even after they're dead while minions instantly disappear; but other than that it's a cool little minigame. My highscore is 20/21

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02pm

nice game...i had problems with shooting though - even when orb hit blue guys they didnt die
too many blue guys comparing to orbs i think...minions even less.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49pm

fantastic graphics! And it's a cool casual take on the Overlord gameplay :)

Top marks!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:34am

The execution is simple, but the conceptual foundation is actually fairly promising. I'd be interested in seeing this kind of game taken a step further.

awppy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44am

The gameplay and control scheme feels very smooth. It's no trouble to have your character running around collecting orbs WHILE you're managing your minions, and I really like that.

schnerble says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Pretty cool, and a nice idea. Very nice graphical style :) I noticed a couple of bugs:
- It seems you can still shoot after restarting if you previously had an orb, even though it says you don't have any
- Hero guys still kill you when they're in the process of dying
Also the controls are very difficult when using a mouse left-handed - arrow keys + space is awkward - but it's an uncommon case, so no big worry :)

Soggyclog says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:19am

Thanks for the bug reports Scherble! As for the controls I can see that being awkward for sure. I'm surprised Dave (the artist) didn't complain about that since he's a lefty. If we do go back and work on this someday, then I'd like to make the controls customizable.

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:37am

I really like the art style! The gameplay was a little too much like pacman for my tastes, but it was still fun.

(Once I read the instructions) I got a score of: x11 villagers, x14 blue men.

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Score: 12x, 14x
Nice game! Would have liked some background music and a background story. What am I and the blue guys supposed to be?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]