December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Click to Lock and Load

by RandomM00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A shooting game including cute cannon fodder.

To run on Windows extract and double click on "click.exe". It should work.
To run on Linux extract, change into the game directory and run ./click. You need Allegro 5.0.8 installed. Sorry to the people who don't like installing dependencies...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#203Graphics3.39
#330Humor2.63
#358Audio2.44
#436Fun2.70
#453Overall2.82
#456Mood2.63
#566Theme2.72
#685Innovation2.12

Comments

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32am

Apparently i'm not good at shooting bunnies x°D good to know. Keep up the good work.

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:26pm

trigger happy!

bunnies is so hard...)

Good game

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Very nice game, though the bunnies were a bit too fast and didn't move high enough that it would be worth trying to shoot them later on. Liked the flying armadillos(?) and pigs though.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

That game is really hard! I like it. Maybe the screen could be a little bit larger.

J says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:41pm

I only see vegetables, no animals, and if I click, the game uses 100% CPU and becomes unresponsive. This happened both with the Linux binary (32-bit) and when I compiled from source (64-bit - incidentally, this took less effort somehow). There's no output at all.

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Oh noes! I'm a goat! Cool game and rather difficult.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:01pm

Bunnies move up and down a bit too fast. Also it's a bit of a broad take on the theme, you don't necessarily have to be a villain to keep rabbits away from your cabbages.

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Thank you all for the responses and testing my game! I'm glad so many of you have got it to run!
The flying balls of fur were meant to be badgers, but they are tricky to draw.
@J: I haven't come across that problem, can you give any more details?

J says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Hmm. Well, I used Allegro 5.0.8, and compiled with Go 1.0.3, on Arch Linux. I can't think of anything else that might help with this problem - I didn't notice much. On starting the game, there's just a static screen with the cursor and no sound, and clicking causes the freeze.

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I'm not sure what's causing that. All of the development was done on Arch, Go version 1.0.3-4, Allegro 5.0.8-1. Clicking doesn't do very much except allocating some video memory (I think). The game uses hardware accelerated graphics, so maybe it doesn't like your graphics card.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16pm

I appreciated the consistent art style, randomly-generated levels, and the level of difficulty.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Dude, I'm terrible at killing things... Nice one!

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:26pm

It's really hard. Liked the art style.

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:37pm

I like the randomised level generation and the graphics are all consistent within the theme.. However, as I missed practically every rabbit I aimed at, can you give me the option of M4 with undermounted grenade launcher? Thanks!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:25am

Nice one! Pretty hard (and the resolution is very small by default, scales nicely though), but quite fun. I think it's well suited to repeated replays since the difficulty is not too high, you just need to focus and get better. Well done!

Ditto says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:02am

This game made me swear at bunnies. Good game, :D

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Looks nice, but slow it down a bit.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:43am

Bunnies could be a fraction slower. Not bad other than that.

Retroid says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Bunnies were the hardest thing to hit, you definitely need to slow them down or at least give them a bigger hit box. Good game other than that issue!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:20am

Very simple design with some programmer porn. mmmmm I'm lovin' it! :D

But I can't see how are you the villain here... anyway the pig is the best! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]