December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Darkness

by johnfn - Jam Entry

Stuff to know about this game

1. Theme connection isn't obvious until the end, so be sure to stick around. It is there, I promise.
2. There are two endings! After getting one, getting the other shouldn't be too hard...
3. Let me know if it's too laggy. I think I cleared it up, but you never know.

This game was way too ambitious. I totally overscoped. Oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

AyCe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Compile this and i promise to try it ;-) (Windows plz)

SXPanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

I don't think the game compiled properly. The camera stops after a short distance and if I leave the viewing area its unlikely I'll be able to find my way back.

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:08pm

I uploaded the COMPLETE wrong version. I have no idea how that happened and I didn't notice. It's fixed now.

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35pm

CONTAINS SPOILER

Very nice! Great music, no glitches found, good idea and theme connection. I see how this could have been much bigger. It got easy once I got the poison darts, but that's ok since the game is over then anyway ^^

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Very good entry, really impressive mechanics and structure and a nice twist in the tail, the complete package, thank you! -J

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Hum, controls and gamer movements are a bit wacky. Unfortunally the framerate drops to an unplayable state after entering the room with the blue guards. Wanted to complete the game, graphics and mood was good.

donmilham says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:51am

Congrats. I felt this game was a complete experience. Engaging story. Nice mechanics and appropriate use of them in the puzzles.

Sestren says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:42am

I can't believe this hasn't gotten more plays. I really loved the music, and the dialogue was engaging (at times, also quite humorous). Great entry overall!

SimianLogic says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:27am

Good music, controls are fluid and fun. Thought the "reveal" was pretty dumb and the camera felt pretty drunk at times... but all in all I liked the light mechanic and the gameplay quite a bit!

rylgh says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:57pm

nice light mechanic, effective and fun. pretty good level of challenge, got seen a few times but wasn't frustrating. didn't really understand the ending... wanted to fight all those guards though...

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice game, I enjoyed it! I hope you get enough ratings. :)

sauronz says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:08pm

This is really a great game! Love the atmosphere, the story and the mechanic. didn't have much problem with controls. LOVE the music. And the graphics are also very nice :) Great entry! Hope to see more from you

Patrick64 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Nice, I liked it. I'm impressed with the music and graphics. I'm glad you appear at the start of the area rather at the beginning when you die too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]